We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb place for late weekend lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Piatto Italian Farmhouse Kitchen

Il Piatto Italian Farmhouse Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Piatto Italian Farmhouse Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 556 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Washington
Description: Located one block north of the historic Santa Fe Plaza, il Piatto Italian Farmhouse Kitchen has been a local and national favorite for over 20 years. Travel and Leisure, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, Esquire, The James Beard Foundation, The Albuquerque Journal, The Santa Fe Reporter, The New Mexican, Local Flavor and The New York Times are among the many fans of Chef Matt Yohalem and his well honed staff. il Piatto features a Sidewalk Patio, Wine Bar, Private Dining Facility and a Custom Iron and Glass WineCave. Everything possible is made in house, and we source as much local organic product as possible. Winner 2015 Award of Excellence Wine Spectator. Winner 2013 Local Hero Award. Pasta is made Fresh Daily and il Piatto hosts satelite Farmers Markets in season. Open for LATE NITE DINING, DAILY HAPPY HOURS, ALL DAY LUNCH, and WINE BAR DINING. Dinner 7 nites.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Superb place for late weekend lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Il Piatto has a magnificent prix fixe afternoon lunch, consisting of appetizer, main and dessert. I had grilled calamari, together with sautéed duck liver and a delicious 3-decker tiramisu, all for $16.95. Wine is in addition to that, typically $10. I look for wonderful and quite places to hang out and read on a Saturday afternoon in Santa Fe, and these are hard to find in winter. But, with Doug's exquisite service and zero pressure to make my table available, I found it! With a window offer a view of a quiet snow outside, the afternoon couldn't have been finer. Highly recommended. I should mention that they also have happy hour 7 nights a week from 4:30 til 6:00, and, after 9pm until 10:30, half off appetizers and wine by the glass, or a $20 prix fixe, your choice. This is also unusual, since it's so difficult to find a dinner at 9:30 in Santa Fe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    178
    85
    73
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet dinner near Santa Fe's Plaza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Meeting Santa Fe friends for dinner, and they suggested this restaurant because it's quiet and easy to visit. Interesting menu choices--not the typical Italian fare found at many locations. Everything was tasty. I had pumpkin ravioli and a yummy chocolate mousse for dessert. Others had polenta-crusted trout and another specialty ravioli. I suspect the menu changes often. Il Piatto stays open till 10:30 seven night a week. I see from the website that they received a trip advisor "travelers choice" award for 2012 as well as some other recognitions.

http://ilpiattosantafe.com/ilpiatto/index.html

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BaylorSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rosemary lemon chicken and roasted vegetables”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

For a nice break from Southwest flavors, try the roasted chicken with rosemary and lemon, and roasted vegetables. Ask to sit in the main area near the front bay window. Pasta has been just ok on our several visits, because they seem not to understand al-dente. This last time my wife's ravioli was dry. Not something to rave about. They can surely do better with only a small amount of the owner's and chef's attention. The yogurt shop is just a couple doors away for a light dessert on the walk back to your hotel.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Trying too hard..Keep it Simple”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had heard a lot about this restaurant, finally decided to visit with a group of friends.

Pros: Great ambience and setting; Quite welcoming and convenient location.

Cons: It took us forever to understand the menus, they were so complicated and mixed up. I am not referring to the language, just the layout and mix and match seems very complicated. After along day of making decisions at work....do you really want to spend 20 mins on the menu..we really found that exhausting.

The food for a restaurant of such repute was average at best, there are much better Italian restaurants in Santa Fe.

Our server was attentive and professional.

Overall all I found the whole experience at Il Piatto disappointing, seems like they are trying too hard.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ValeCeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Always like Il Piatto. Have been here many times and always like the food. I was however very disappointed in that their Caesar salad used to be much better than on this visit. They need to maintain the quality of that dish and frankly it was nothing special.

I have had lots of great meals in this place so it still has credibility with me.

Helpful?
1 Thank Largeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Piatto Italian Farmhouse Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Il Piatto Italian Farmhouse Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing