We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch.”

Dr. Field Goods Kitchen
Ranked #65 of 564 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Dr. Field Goods is a farm to table restaurant, butcher shop and catering food truck. We do not use a can opener or a microwave. All of our food is sustainable and homemade. We serve breakfast Wednesday through Sunday from 8 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. and lunch and dinner daily from 11 a.m. to 9 p.m. The butcher shop is open Tuesday through Saturday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. and Mondays from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. with a limited selection. The food truck is available for catered events in the Santa Fe area. Call for more details.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

One of Santa Fe's newest restaurants and based on my experience Dr. Field Goods should be around a long time. The atmosphere is friendly and the wait staff is professional and quick. I've eaten there twice and it has always been busy. Their pork dishes are excellent and their lemonade is fresh squeezed. They may have the best onion rings I have ever eaten. The music is a little loud making conversation difficult but there are tables outside if you want it a little quieter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SmithH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    92
    31
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

In a totally characterless shopping mall on Cerrillos Road (and area of little interest to tourists) is one of the nicest little places in Santa Fe. A neighborly atmosphere...you'll find local cops and firefighters in there most days...and freshly made, tasty food make Dr Field Goods worth searching for. The cuban sandwich is huge and one of the best in town. The burgers could do with a bit more accompaniment so remember to ask if you want tomato etc. The wood burning oven turns out great pizzas - as usual the simpler Margherita is the way to go. Wines are good and affordable. A great lunch spot. And the only tourist spot of interest on Cerrillos is right next door...Jackalope Market. So combine the two.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food, noise level a little much!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Enjoyed many different dishes. great friendly smart staff. Noise level of music made it hard to enjoy conversation with friends. We were actually shouting at one stage because the song playing was just unbearable loud. Choice of music was excellent but urn down the volume a bit please!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank bell321A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food and service, loud music”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We went here in the late afternoon for lunch. We have been to this spot as 3 different restaurants so we were pleasantly surprised by this latest iteration. They did a good job transforming a dull strip mall space into an inviting place dominated by a large bar and clay oven. We were, however, put off by the loud music and blasting air. There were fans going and the ac--probably to make up for the large oven in the middle of the room. I am deducting stars for the music and cold but these are things that can be controlled. Our wait person was friendly and helpful. I had the green chili stew and he had the pulled pork sandwich. Both were excellent. The prices are a little dear for lunch but at least there is a range to pick from. The restaurant attracts a mixed crowd which is good otherwise it might suffer hipster burnout.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank designcunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great ingredients, great chef and warm, attentive service.”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Food here is outstanding with a freshness and flavor that's hard to beat. This is not gourmet food but then who always wants that and who can afford it? The selection here offers good ingredients, expertly prepared and interesting combinations of flavors. We had fish and chips appetizer and the pulled pork sandwich which is about as good as it gets. Fish portion could have been larger but then it was a fairly low price. Only negative, which is small, is that their ovens are in the main dining area and the place was a little warm. There is some outside seating. While there, get a seat so you can watch the chef in the middle by the 'pizza' oven who also bakes mussels and an incredible chili chicken enchilada, etc. He is in complete control of many items simultaneously and seems to keep track of it all. Very impressive!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Field Goods Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Dr. Field Goods Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing