We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mamou French Restaurant

Chez Mamou French Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 543 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We loved discovering this quaint little bistro. We sat in the alleyway courtyard and took lunch. The menu was Classic French and everything that came out of the kitchen looked delightful! We opted for salads and a bottle of excellent Sauvignon blanc recommended by the very attentive waitress. We wish we had time for another visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cushmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    129
    54
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A pleasant restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Based on two experiences at this restaurant (3 for my wife), we’d say that Chez Mamou is a good addition to the restaurant scene in Santa Fe, and I expect we’ll be occasional repeat customers for years. However, we can say nothing about the pastries or wines, as we don’t partake of either. The restaurant is well situated in the downtown area, and has a nice ambience. A couple of observations that might be helpful. We called beforehand and asked if there was a special for that night; after checking with the kitchen, our communicant said there was--pasta with mussels. When we asked the waiter if there was a special on, he at first said no, but when we thought otherwise, he checked--only to find that, indeed, what we had originally been told was correct. Give a demerit to kitchen-waitstaff communications. We ordered a bottle of sparkling water, which was plopped down and left unopened on our table. The waiter neglected to pour, although he did pour wine at all the adjacent tables. I guess the tip on water wouldn’t have been sufficient to merit the extra attention. That said, the wait staff was otherwise quite pleasant and attentive. As for the food, it is well-prepared and good. We’ve always had the organic mixed green salad as a starter. While not very big, to be true, it has proven fresh, tasty, and not over-priced. Last night we both had the mussels with pasta--the mussels were cooked exquisitely, the saucing was light and interestingly spiced (very garlicky and mildly hot), and the pasta fine (but not exquisite, such as at Cipriani’s in NYC), although I’d have preferred linguine to their spaghetti. The previous time we had the duck confit pasta, which was quite richly sauced but equally as satisfying. We also shared a side of shishito peppers (mini, sweet-hot, thin-walled green peppers popular in Japan) which I’d advise skipping as, while well enough prepared, the peppers seemed dry and not sufficiently sweet.
Finally, a note on the mussels. I’ve not tried these yet, but wife tried them on her first visit to Chez Mamou. She reports they’re the “best she’s ever had.” Now, that’s some recommendation, given that I’ve taken her to the famous Toby’s for mussels (right on Penn Cove on Whidbey Island, noted source of exquisite mussels), and also in light of her having spent many summers in Paris, noted for mussel cuisine. Certainly I’ll have to return here to try them if they’re anywhere close to being that good. All in all, modestly sized plates with good food at moderate prices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Breakfast Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We only took advantage of the breakfasts they offer, and did not try the lunch or dinner menus. The pastries are delicious, and it is lovely to sit outside in the adjacent courtyard.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pastries may be somewhat different than you expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had two pastries for dessert one night. One was a fruit "tart", the other was a chocolate confection. The surprising part about them was that the base of each of the pastries was what I would classify as a large cookie. I had expected them to be on a pastry shell base with a creamy filling, but this isn't how they make them here. They're very tasty, but you should know what you're going to be getting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The pastries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

As others have mentioned this is a great place for lunch and of course dessert and a coffee. French style and lots of chocolate choices. We would recommend this place for lunch or an afternoon break. During peak seasons it can be very crowded.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverFoothills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mamou French Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chez Mamou French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing