We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better place”

Chez Mamou French Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Mamou French Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 564 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: French, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better place”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for 4 days this month on a ski trip - Chez M was a recommendation from Alder at the St. Francis Hotel - along w/ our usual favorite, Burro Alley Cafe. The latter was mysteriously closed for at least the 2 days we went by there, w/ no sign on the door. So we tried Chez M - that was such an amazing experience that far exceeded our expectations !!! Superb service & food, fair prices, charming, romantic atmosphere - these guys really aim to please! And pastries, coffee, every single thing couldn't be better! We were lucky we went that day, since they're closed temporarily for an expansion project - just got their liquor license. It'll be tough waiting til next yr's trip to SF, but we'll be sure to spend a lot of time there in the future.

Helpful?
8 Thank catricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    147
    61
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a totally delicious lunch here, with the nicest of service. The baked goods were exceptional - we went back more than once during our trip to Santa Fe. The delightful staff were very friendly, with such lovely accents!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Judy2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulce, NM
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We sought out Chez Mamou because a couple of our family members traveled in France last fall. We were completely delighted at Chez Mamou! The menu had a lot of variety, and the food was amazing. Beautiful, tasty French sauces. Perfectly made and beautifully presented. And the deserts! We savored every bite of everything. The staff was also very gracious, attentive and friendly. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Dulce_NMTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Morning Breakfast (and lunch & dinner) in Santa Fe”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just up the street from The Plaza is a great little bistro named Chez Mamou. Wonderful staff. Wonderful French pastries (we had the almond croissant -- both crunchy on the edges the way my partner likes it and gooey in the middle the way I like it) and a full breakfast, lunch and dinner menu. I had croque madame and my non egg-eating partner had croque monsieur -- both with greens and potatoes. Wonderful. Not the cheapest out there but worth it. With a cranberry juice and coffee, the total was $37 for two. Great way to start one's day in Santa Fe.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DreamJobGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Solid food, fresh pastry”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very small cafe with no beer or wine. This will change soon according to waitstaff. Escargot was very good as was the Montecristo sandwich. The pastries and breads are freshly baked. The apple tart was the best I have ever had. Seating is packed tightly and tables small. I would recommend a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mamou French Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chez Mamou French Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing