We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary”

Santa Fe Botanical Garden
Ranked #27 of 261 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Santa Fe Botanical Garden strives to benefit all Santa Fe and New Mexico citizens, and our area's many visitors. The Botanical Garden is an independent nonprofit, not a part of the four Santa Fe state museums, with a commitment to affordable admission and providing monthly Community Days free for New Mexico residents. Our educational mission raises awareness of critical issues such as water conservation, climate change impact, and responsible gardening practices. SFBG consists of the Botanical Garden on Museum Hill and the Leonora Curtin Wetland Preserve. The Gardens provides an "outdoor living room" where everyone can connect with nature, marvel at amazing plant varieties, and benefit from a place for contemplation. Visitors can relax under shading ramadas, discover a century-old red bridge, and explore the Art Trail, where changing exhibitions of sculpture will encourage return visits. With an array of native and traditional plants, awe-inspiring stone and metal work, and breathtaking vistas, the Botanical Garden is the essence of New Mexico. The Landscape Architect is W Gary Smith, and we are currently in construction of a 2nd phase, an Ethnobotanical garden to open in 2016. Please stop by and enjoy beauty and lessons to be learned in the garden! Thank you.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sanctuary”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I first visited the Santa Fe Botanical Garden in June of 2013 for their Opening night Gala. It was beautiful then and a wonderful beginning. I visited for the second time this Tuesday and found
it to be pure sanctuary with its casual indigenous plants, many radiant with blooms. My favorite
aspect however of the garden are the ramadas of various architectural styles and various materials that are scattered throughout the garden. I find them brilliant and very reflective of the old Hispanic
culture in the southwest. In my mind a quick 15 to 20 minute walk through the Santa Fe Botanical Garden is sanctuary. Small is good, it allowsfor a pause in ones day for your refection
and doesn't boogle the mind like so many other gardens with their extensive array of plants and such. I would recommend this to anyone whether they are wishing to take a break from the many museums on Museum Hill or just wishing sanctuary in the middle of a beautiful historic city.
The origami sculpture snow on exhibit are a very fun addition.

Deborah Quirk
Tucson Arizona

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank deb q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    55
    23
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Nice botanic garden - will be good to see how it grows over the next few years”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I visited the botanic gardens with a friend on a Saturday afternoon. The gardens were nice, but it is very small. We enjoyed looking at the plans for additional areas - I think once those are done it will be very nice, and will feel more like it is worth your admission price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dogsareup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great docents!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We enjoyed a visit to this garden especially because of the knowledgeable, caring, friendly staff. More signage would help visitors know where to go once they turn into the parking lot. We didn't see the building at the end of the parking lot and had to walk up the hill on the other side to find where we were supposed to be going!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good stroll in the gardens”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My friend and i went to check out Origami in the gardens. It was interesting to see all the sculptures that came from origami. They looked just like paper!! It was amazing. It was nice that at each sculpture their was a little description you could listen to about the peace, You need to have your phone to hear it because you need to call a number. Be sure to wear sunscreen because there is not much shade. It would be nice if they had paved walkways because then it could be wheelchair accessible. Other then that is was nice to see all the flowers!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,899 reviews
1,045 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,875 helpful votes
“What a great job they have done in less than a year”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This brand new garden, which opened in July, 2013, has done an amazing job. Great garden architecture with ramadas, sitting areas, benches, walkways. There is even a 1913 historic bridge that was moved here. We were surprised with the number of lovely desert plants and flowers and they had many volunteers working when we were there. They have done a good job with plaques with information about most plants. In addition, there is an exhibit of large metal origami like sculptures by Kevin Box throughout the garden. The garden presently covers one acre with it eventually expanding to 3 acres. It is at an excellent location on Museum Hill across the street from the museums.

Admission is $7 for adults with discounts for seniors, military, etc. We were able to get in free because as members of the American Horticultural Society, they participate in a reciprocal program with other gardens.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Santa Fe Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing