We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hot chocolate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kakawa Chocolate House

Kakawa Chocolate House
Ranked #1 of 28 Dessert in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a specialty chocolate company with a passion for historic drinking chocolate elixirs and hand crafted truffles, caramels, baked goods and more! Come in daily for tastings of our warm elixirs or cold organic ice cream- Eat in or take out for the best sweet treat in Santa Fe!
Texas
Level Contributor
719 reviews
514 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

There is one hot chocolate that I have tried that was better than Kakawa. I was less than 10 years old, it was my first communion. The local priest made hot chocolate for all kids (Peruvian style) with loads of cinnamon. That was the best I ever hard. Closely followed by Kakawa. After that there is a huge, Gobi dessert size void. Then the rest that is not worth ever slurping again.

I love the almond milk blends, as well as the spicy Mexican blends. If you like nutmeg, go for Jefferson. Otherwise American. Chocolates are delicious, especially the goat cheese ones. Do not miss this little gem. Then again, as #1 on Tripadvisor, it will be hard to miss!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank icanhazsweetsokthx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    145
    25
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
141 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best chocolate elixir”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Wow this was one of my food highlights in SantaFe. I ordered the regular chocolate drink in a small size. It was so good I had to have one more. It ended up being my lunch. The truffles were outstanding too and the service and staff were so nice letting people try out the different drinks. I tried some of the others but the regular classic was the best.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paisagringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A pregnant gals paradise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here while on our baby moon mini vacation. We tried several chocolate drinks, but I cannot say we truly enjoyed them. I think we are more accustomed to overly sweetened milk chocolates. We split a hot chocolate that was recommended to us by the barista after informing her that we didn't really care for bitter or spicy. We kind of had to choke it down. I can definitely see how some would love these concoctions. They are so creatively blended, it's truly an art form. I will say this - they have some dang good chocolate truffles and crispy chocolate cookies. I'm not saying I ate six different truffles in one sitting, but I'm not denying it either.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

While I can't say we had quite the 'spiritual' experience that many reviewers mention here, this was some darn good chocolate.

They let you sample the drinking chocolate - id recommend trying a few since they stick very closely to the traditional recipes.

We ended up having the ice cream - YUM!! If you go the ice cream route, the chocolate sauce topping is worth every penny. Would absolutely stop here again!

Helpful?
Thank Jessie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spoil yourself!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is some of the best quality chocolate I have ever experienced. The elixirs and the caramels are both heavenly. Our daughter also enjoyed some ice cream. It is crazy expensive, but as soon as it hits your tongue, you realize how amazing the quality is. A little slice of heaven.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank COBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakawa Chocolate House also viewed

 

Been to Kakawa Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing