We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place after second visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kakawa Chocolate House

Kakawa Chocolate House
Ranked #1 of 28 Dessert in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a specialty chocolate company with a passion for historic drinking chocolate elixirs and hand crafted truffles, caramels, baked goods and more! Come in daily for tastings of our warm elixirs or cold organic ice cream- Eat in or take out for the best sweet treat in Santa Fe!
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place after second visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Second time here. Wasn't really impressed first time around which was three years ago. To be fair, I probably ordered the wrong drink. I like dark chocolate, but it was too one note for me. This time I ordered the American. It was awesome. Great chocolate flavor and well balanced. Also tried the salted caramel ice cream covered with fudge sauce and a gluten free brownie. Both were good. They also seem to have perfected their method of making the drinks. Three years ago it looked like mason jars in a hot bath. Now they have machines that keep the chocolate hot and smooth. Awesome. A must stop if you are in Santa Fe.

Helpful?
1 Thank microbesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    145
    25
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great for gifts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

An impressive array of chocolates. Great in coffee in the morning (or anytime). I bought some for gifts, which were very well received.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neurovictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyr, Austria
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

A nice afternoon respite and experience which I had never had before (bucket list check-check!). Friendly staff offering advice and free tastings of the various chocolate drinks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yodeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over the top flavor, must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Elixirs were fantastic. Mayan was our favorite. Intense dark chocolate, spicy, nutty, herbal, all in a sip.
Very reasonable prices. $3.50 for 3 oz of pure chocolate drink. $6.25 for 6 oz. Lots of other truffles and caramels w local flavors too, and they even have a clean bathroom !

Helpful?
Thank robdj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More than just chocolate...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

...you also get a lesson in the history of chocolate when you experience Kakawa. That's what is so appealing about this place. If you really like your typical store brand milk chocolate, Kakawa might not be for you, but if you like trying interesting, strong, unique flavors together, don't miss a stop here. Yes, it's expensive, but fun and tasty. We tried several of the elixirs (some are available to order online, some are not), a brownie, lavender vanilla caramel, and a truffle. Oh, and if there is someone in your party who is not a chocolate fan at all, they also have some flavors of ice cream that aren't chocolate, and a couple of drinks, and if there's a diabetic in the group, some of their chocolate is very low in sugar compared to most we're used to in the U.S. (And we also saw some gluten-free cookies, so they really do try to be inclusive). Just try and you'll see...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Readytogo973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakawa Chocolate House also viewed

 

Been to Kakawa Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing