We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Grandma's Hot Chocolate!”

Kakawa Chocolate House
Ranked #1 of 26 Dessert in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a specialty chocolate company with a passion for historic drinking chocolate elixirs and hand crafted truffles, caramels, baked goods and more! Come in daily for tastings of our warm elixirs or cold organic ice cream- Eat in or take out for the best sweet treat in Santa Fe!
Restaurant details
Description: We are a specialty chocolate company with a passion for historic drinking chocolate elixirs and hand crafted truffles, caramels, baked goods and more! Come in daily for tastings of our warm elixirs or cold organic ice cream- Eat in or take out for the best sweet treat in Santa Fe!
MI
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not Your Grandma's Hot Chocolate!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Think "Chocolat" with Johnny Depp and Juliette Binoche.
The elixors they make to create the drinking chocolate are exotic and unexpected.
Put Kakawa on the top of your places to visit in Santa Fe and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lolayaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    148
    25
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Oh My God, A Must”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is amazing. The hot chocolate is so amazing that I bought two bags to bring home with me. The stuff I brought home is equally amazing. There's not really a whole lot to eat per se, but trust me, find a moment when you want a little snack and head here. The ice cream is equally divine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pmulvihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Chocolate Lover's Dream”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

As we shared our free sample of a dark chocolate drink, we walked back and forth in front of the display cases trying to decide which handmade delicacies we were going to share. We settled on two items, a dark chocolate turtle and a dark chocolate brownie. The crisp nuts in the dark chocolate turtle were held in place by gooey caramel that melted in our mouths. Later we shared a rectangular brownie that was inundated with deep dark chocolate. It’s a shame that we did not pick up some milk on the way back to the hotel.

I was addicted. If we had time, I would have definitely returned. I'm glad that I don't live in Santa Fe. I'd be a frequent visitor and my waistline would suffer tremendously.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We Agree”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

You have to include this place on your Santa Fe list of stops. Kakawa sounds Hawaiian but it is actually an ancient word and it must mean "ineffable." Drink this chocolate and you will never be the same!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you like chocolate, no - if you LOVE chocolate, then you must stop here and enjoy some liquid chocolate. They let you try everything before you select your fav. That and a fresh made Brownie and we were flying on a chocolate buzz the rest of the afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakawa Chocolate House also viewed

 

Been to Kakawa Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing