We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty neat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kakawa Chocolate House

Kakawa Chocolate House
Ranked #1 of 28 Dessert in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a specialty chocolate company with a passion for historic drinking chocolate elixirs and hand crafted truffles, caramels, baked goods and more! Come in daily for tastings of our warm elixirs or cold organic ice cream- Eat in or take out for the best sweet treat in Santa Fe!
Carrollton, tx
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty neat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We just stopped in for a snack. We sampled several hot chocolates and sat down with our choices. This place deserves the excellent reviews it gets, and is a nice choice if you want to have a snack or sample some unique chocolate favors.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    145
    25
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You can't Miss this Taste Treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've never had "hot chocolate" like this. It is infused with chile powder and INTENSELY chocolate. Some of the chile is spicier than others, but all of the drinks are rich and satisfying.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Liquid chocolate that hits the spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Small cup of "chocolate" - its not hot chocolate it really is liquid chocolate - small cup is all you need - it is delicious. Their baked goods looked good too. Had one of the brownies. They also offer tiny samples so you can pick your drink from the large variety. I had the Marie Antoinette. The choclate bars seems a bit pricey - $10 to $20 for one bar! but definitely worth a visit. Easy walking distance from the Plaza area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mctrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A "must stop" for chocolate lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're in Santa Fe, and you don't stop at Kakawa Chocolate House, you are missing a true chocolate lovers gem. They use Valhrona chocolate and if you're familiar with the brand you know you're in for something special. We were greeted with a tiny warm sample of the American flavored elixer. I was hooked right then and there. Try the salted or peanut butter brownies if you need more of a reason to fall love with this place. They are located right downtown and have a parking lot, so seek them out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“LOVED THE CHOCOLATE!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Everyone in our family tried a different hot chocolate! Was fun to taste. The robust richness was amazing. We bought some to go and I enjoyed the elixirs all winter! The chocolate covered chiles were a fun gift to bring home to other family members. They barely made it home though. We will stop again.....worth the time it took to drive the the FINE ART FAIR to get there!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5PAGES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakawa Chocolate House also viewed

 

Been to Kakawa Chocolate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing