We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully decorated, charming, and agreeably eccentric”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn of the Five Graces
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated, charming, and agreeably eccentric”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

As befits "the city different", this is not a standard-issue five-star hotel. It has no pool and no restaurant of its own. However, given its location, either side of a small side-road (E de Vargas St) in the centre of walkable Santa Fe, neither of these two things matters at all.

What you do get are generously sized rooms decorated with a touch of genius, a first-rate free breakfast, wonderful staff and a super location. It is expensive, but soft-drinks from the minibar and wifi and breakfast are all free, which compensates for this (compensates quite a lot, given what I have paid for these extras elsewhere). Room service is available from two nearby restaurants under the same ownership - but equally this is not the kind of stuck-up place where you can't order in a pizza from anywhere.

In its way, this is a template for a new kind of luxury hotel - without the usual bluster and pomposity - the money instead goes towards architecture and helpful, intelligent staff, rather than on a lot of gratuitous and unmemorable nonsense.

We all loved it.

Room Tip: We were very well advised by the hotel itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoryS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    34
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
71
359
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We arrived after a 700 mile road trip, and no fewer than 4 people helped us - and our 2 dogs - get settled. Waiting in the suite were treats and stuffed animals for the animals, and more-than-we-could-consume goodies for us in the refrigerator. The only down side was that we couldn't enjoy the Five Graces longer, as we left the crack of dawn the next day. Yes, the suite was a bit pricey - so on a dollar/per hour basis for us it was comparable to the RitzI But, it was a wonderful respite on a long trip. Btw, in our pre-dawn exit I left my laptop in the room, which they FedEx'd to our next location...Service to the end!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahKPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

All the previous reviews are true for all the reasons mentioned: friendly and knowledgeable staff (thanks Sharif and Joshua!), super rooms, location, food, etc. etc. I'll share a bit more about our suite, which like all the others, is unique.

We chose Camellia, the smallest suite, for our five night stay and found it fit us well. It is totally quiet and dark, with it's own small courtyard behind a gate. The courtyard has a small table with two chairs plus an arch of lights above. It is very secluded. There is a small entryway that houses a wardrobe, and other essentials such as the refrigerator, coffee maker and dishes - all behind cabinet-type doors. A small table to hold the evening treats plus glassware and more water completes the entryway. To the right is the bedroom with a king bed (sumptuous bedding), fireplace, two chairs, drawers with the tv atop, a desk and two nightstands. The view from the bedroom includes two windows to Camellia's private courtyard and a larger window out to the main patio area (not the eating area). There are wooden shutters plus drapes which makes this sooo dark that it was almost humorous when we awoke at night. I do suggest a small flashlight. The tiled bathroom is off the entryway and includes a large walk in shower, single vanity and skylight. It does not have a tub. We had the opportunity to see some of the others suites and compared to them, Camellia is small, however we found it totally adequate for the two of us - we do not travel lightly but still found ample space to store everything. It is still much larger than most hotel rooms.

Each night we would sit in the larger courtyard and enjoy a glass of wine. Just a totally super experience and we hope to return in the winter.

Room Tip: We liked Camellia for this visit as it had no one above or below us. Many of the suites do have som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgiaToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here last week and couldn't have been more pleased. We were in the Lavender room, with a full kitchen, living room, den and bed and bath. As other reviewers have mentioned, they greeted us with champagne, valeted our car for free, and set us up with restaurant reccos and reservations (try Restaurant Martin), day trips (we went up to Taos for the day).

Breakfast is free and delicious each morning - eggs, pancakes, french toast, whatever you like, as much as you like ;). Fridges are stocked with sodas/water, candy and snacks. They have bottles of wine for sale, and will do meal service from the 315 Restaurant and Wine Bar across the street (a good place to drop in for wine).

Only nit....... the room was a teensy bit dark. But we spent our days exploring the beautiful area so it wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatViccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed for one night at this very charming, friendly and stylish B&B. Yummy snacks in room fridge are already included in the rate, the reception folks valet parked our car just because, and generally bent over backwards to help us anytime we needed anything. This place is incredible and the best in Santa Fe. Breakfast was fresh and delicious, made to order. Heaven.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lidy1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
231 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I found out about this beautiful Relaix & Chateau property on Goop, the blog by Gwenyth Paltrow and it was such a gift!

Every room is different and unique so studying their online photos is a must! The decor is authentic and charming. The courtyards and common areas are enchanting! There was not one second of disappointment from check in to check out.

We were in Santa Fe for their famous Indian Market and even with the crowds and the chaos, the staff didn't miss a thing. Housekeeping is impeccable and the staff is engaging and genuine providing you with "right on" suggestions for restaurants and day trips.

They have a wonderful breakfast included in the hotel charge and a fun wine and cheese evening each Friday. The Inn is well located to the square as well as Canyon Road.

Their workout room is well equipped and since most travelers to Santa Fe receive their cardio from walking 6 hours a day, the gym is never crowded.

The beds were extremely comfortable and not only are the bathrooms well appointed, but the tile work is something to behold.

Give this little gem a try and I know you will be as pleased as we were.

Room Tip: Be specific when asking questions about room types. As I said, each one is different. Some have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBHAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is absolutely beautiful! Done in tiles and mosaics (sp?). The hotel staff were wonderful as was our room. Within walking distance of everything to see historically. Great food and shopping. Would definitely go again!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Five Graces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Five Graces

Property: Inn of the Five Graces
Address: 150 E de Vargas St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn of the Five Graces 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of the Five Graces combines luxury with an aura of mystery. With an ethnic décor enhanced by East Indian and Tibetan antiques, oriental carpets and nomadic textiles combined with Southwest architecture, the interiors feature many handcrafted pieces as well as spectacular tile mosaics. Passionate about this land with its wealth of Indian legends, the owners invite you to embark on a sensory voyage to fully savour this melting pot of cultures and colours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn of the Five Graces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Five Graces Hotel Santa Fe
Inn Of The 5 Graces
Hotel Of The Five Graces
Of The Five Graces Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing