We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rustic and scenic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #41 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Houston
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Rustic and scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We decided to stay at the Bishop's Lodge again on our second trip to Santa Fe after nine years because we liked the rustic scenery and the ranch lodge atmosphere of their 450 acres a few miles north of town. We stayed at the Sunset Lodge building which is has couples rooms only a short walk from the main lodge. Our room was large with a Kiva style fireplace, comfortable king sized bed, and setting area with couch and chair. The bathroom had double sinks and a large shower/tub combo. The furnishings were a bit old, but we didn't mind this. The toiletries were top notch and very nice. The main lodge bar was cozy and the restaurant was adequate and served a full menu. The Sha Nah Spa was excellent with a comprehensive treatment list for men and women. She had a massage and facial and I had a massage and foot treatment. Both therapists was excellent with many years of experience. The spa building also contains their pool and fitness center. When we were there a huge winter storm blew in and covered the place in 9" inches of snow turning the buildings, huge trees and grounds into a white winter wonderland. Overall we like the lodge very much even though it's showing its age somewhat and upgrades needed in the older buildings. However, the historic setting and ranch lodge atmosphere make up for these shortcomings in our opinion.

Room Tip: Couples should be Ok with Sunset Lodge rooms and families should choose the upgraded rooms in lodges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Icemanlaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    126
    86
    97
    70
See reviews for
191
223
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We arrived and the front desk was very accommodating, quick, friendly and informative. We stayed in Juniper 1&2 and though there were enough signs to direct us, we still got lost. :P we asked a gentleman raking leaves for direction and will we all laughed about the experience he kindly told us exactly where our room was. As we were driving up to our cabin a deer slowly walked out of the forest about 6 feet I front of the car. It just looked at us while we frantically jumped for the camera and moseyed on its way toward our front door. We pulled right up to our front door and unloaded. I do suggest they add room numbers to both front and back door. We were part of a wedding party and therefore we got to look at both king and double queen rooms. The king room is nice but I personally loved the double queen room. We had a fireplace which we were able to light later that night with the wood they left outside of our door free of charge. The bathroom is HUGE as well as the closet. There was a wet bar, fridge and sink which was perfect! Truly, the only complaints I have are that the ice machine was broken and if you're not used to smelling horses I'd suggest a different cabin farther away from the stables. You could smell them outside but not inside thank goodness. The kids had a great time walking outside the door and looking at the fish pond and petting the horses though! Totally worth the smell!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

OMG Love it there. It is a super quiet place to stay. We were upgraded to the room with a fire place. Every day they drop off wood for your stay. A newspaper every day on the front of your door. They are pet friendly we took our husky Duke with us.
The restaurant at the lodge was so good we never left to go anywhere else to eat.
Just a very peaceful time away that is close to home...

Room Tip: ROOM 164 right out front of the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SFARES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great staff, great room, solid food, nice hotel amenities, including a fireplace where they provide the wood, great layout of the resort, including some nice views. We checked out some mountain bikes and tooled around the resort, which was fun. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Bishop's Lodge has quickly become a favorite getaway for fun and R&R! It's location is perfect as it's only minutes from the plaza, and the accomodations are fabulous. Attentive to our every need, the staff at the Lodge are second to none and are ready to assist at any given time! Looking forward to returning in December for a pre-holiday girls weekend with my sister! Love it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ceils1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We are locals here in Santa Fe. There is no comparable equine experience for the visitor or novice rider. We have ridden with the Bishops Lodge Wranglers several times. They have so many trails to chose from in the Sangre De Cristo Mountains, that this never gets old. If you are only visiting, this is a landmark MUST DO in Santa Fe - nothing like it to see the mountain pinon and junipers mixed with cholla cactus on the mountains. Mountain Vista Views that stretch into CO and all points in New Mexico - stunning. The horses are wonderful and very well trained - not a sour-puss in the bunch. Book early to get in on the Cowboy BBQ and Bon Fire - great for couples, group of friends, or family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MotoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

So much I could say about what had been anticipated to be a quiet, restful, hassle-free four days at what was described as a "resort".
My issue really stems from the absolute lack of assistance I received from ANYONE in a decision-making role regarding a very simple question I had about my total room charges. It was always someone else's job, or they're not here right now, or they'll be right with you, or I don't know, or that's not my area, etc....total embarassment for whoever actually owns the place to have this caliber of people running your place. All in all it took over 24 hours (after I had already left and flown home!) and countless phone calls to get an answer.
LIke many have posted - the rooms are really outdated, the furnishings threadbare, and the food barely passable. If it weren't for the beautiful setting and grounds, there really would be no reason to waste your time or money at this place. They may attempt to go through the minimal motions, but sorely fail to execute. WIth so many other wonderful places to go in Santa Fe, skip this one for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#24 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Property: Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing