We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Values”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better Values”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Pretty disappointed..... The Room was Very Old and not updated. When we got to the room it was unbelievably hot... The AC clunked and banged all night, the TV switched from Color to Black and White...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    126
    86
    97
    70
See reviews for
191
224
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We just had a corporate 3 day retreat at Bishop's Lodge. What a disappointment. While the setting is rustic and beautiful, the service, food and amenities are a disaster. When our group had it's opening reception the wait staff were rude and "too busy" to service us. The buffet they offered was uneatable. Each meal we ate at the resort was salty and over cooked. Several people were sick after one meal. The beds were lumpy and in need of upgrade. The rooms are tired and need refreshing-----there are many other places in the Santa Fe area and the next time we plan something we will try one of those.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Misssiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Beautiful, even quaint, resort just out side of town. A nice relaxing stay,....but I could not help but feeling this resort is in great need of updating. It was comfortable, clean, and the staff was excellent. But it needs some tender love and care. I just felt that there had not been a lot of that done,....to keep it fresh and updated. It does have charm, and ambiance,...just needs more loving care.

Room Tip: We had a pool facing the the pool,....the afternoon Sun made the room heat up to much and became sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom66harrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a good or bad location depending on your expectations so you need to ensure you do your homework and ensure it will meet your desires before committing. There's a small disclaimer on their website that some rooms are "rustic". I attended an industry conference here in October; the group is not a high maintenance luxury oriented group but yet i heard many complaints from members of our group about the condition of their rooms. Our room was located in one of the older buildings behind the kitchen and conference center. It was very old and not in a historic way, it needed significant updating including carpeting, bathroom, tv's, electric access, etc, definately not worth the price. We even found a small garbage bag on the deck containing a dead mouse, stayed there all week, pretty discouraging insight to housekeepings attention to detail, especially in light of finding a $5/day charge on our bill for Housekeeping Gratuity. The location is a short drive from Santa Fe and while a shuttle is advertised it apparently wasn't reliable, we heard from several in our group they'd been delayed or totally bumped due to mechanical problems or other commitments made. We also had mixed experiences with the staff, some very helpful, some not so much. We ate one meal in the restaurant, the food and service was very good. The food and service staff at our conference likewise was good. The pool and common grounds are very nice, the historic chapel adds a nice touch and the trail ride horses seemed to well maintained and fresh versus old, tired trail walkers. Hiking in the valley was fun with very nice views. The history of this location deserves a more focused business plan and better attention to detail. Again, strongly suggest you do as much research as possible before you commit, for some this may be a perfect get away, for others it may be a frustrating over priced disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very nice place to stay. It is located 10 minutes out of town. Very quiet and private. The grounds are pretty with waterfalls and winding roads to walk. Offers spa, heated pool and horseback riding.

Helpful?
5 Thank Gretchen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This property is about 10 minutes from downtown Santa Fe. The property is very spread out and private and maintained. It offers spa, horseback trail riding and is very adequate. The staff was very friendly and helpful especially our waitress Jodi. She was full of very helpful information. I heard the Sunday Brunch is the best in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: We had a room up the mountain that overlooked the lights at night when we sat out on our deck. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gretchen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your patronage and your great review. I'm glad you had the opportunity to experience all that our resort has to offer and I look forward to passing kudos along to our “first rate” staff.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portales
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Some places are old and a little shabby and chic. This is not one of those places. This is not a Rte 66 motel in Tucumcari. It is just old and tired. There is an air of defeat about the place. Worn carpets, repainted and chipping furnishings, noisy mechanicals, all yours for the price of a four star resort. But it isn't.

We stayed for two nights in a "Superior King" Room. It was huge and clean but sparsely decorated, and in need of repairs to tile in the bathroom. The place is odd in that the room rate suggests luxury but there is none to be found. One gets the sensation that the owner does not know what to do with the place. The shower head is a water saving nozzle, the towels worn and rough, the make up mirror's light did not turn on, the robes were faded, the carpet loose and threadbare, the furniture paint chipped and peeling... The average low temperature for Santa Fe in October is 32 degrees F yet the noisy HVAC was not turned over from AC to Heat. Despite having a thermostat in the room with the Heat option it needs to be turned over by maintenance. Though the staff is nice, as to be expected in NM (may be the nicest state in the union), a luxury resort anticipates the needs of it's guests and provides that pampered experience without having to ask for things to be made right.

Do not eat at the hotel or drink at the bar. Unbelievably we had a flavorless chile entree in NM. It was the only vegetarian option on the menu and was a poblano (pare cooked) split open and filled with some tasteless health food grain... it's just this is NM, the home of the chile, and this dish should shine. It is not an isolated dish either breakfast of french toast, eggs and potatoes fully disappointed. I don't know how you get potatoes to chew like rubber they nailed it. French toast was dry without a hint of vanilla or some flavor, and the eggs scrambled and sunny side both over cooked. As for the bar, drinks priced like a NYC club (more than twice what we paid at a 5 star resort in Taos the same weekend).

One last observation. There is a work out room with a collection of various machines of various vintages and operational status, lots of types of dumbbells, and there was a clear acrylic Office Depot magazine holder on a stand. I know it was Office Depot because there was not one magazine in it and the decal was still affixed. Luxury is about details.

Over all there is no value in staying here but it could be a nice place. The rooms are large and some have gas and or wood burning fireplaces, the dreaded resort fee is low and includes wifi and ethernet in the rooms, parking was sufficient, the grounds look nice. Some basic maintenance, an attention to detail, and a realistic price point could go along way toward overlooking the age of the property, lack of upscale touches (tube TVs?), etc... Perhaps the owners will embrace the lodgeness (?) of the property and both restore it and celebrate its proletariat status.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are sorry you did not like our authentic Santa Fe experience. Most guest take advantage of our amenities that we have to offer on the resort like horseback riding, pony rides, free mountain biking, hiking trails, drumming circle, badminton, croquet, volleyball, kids camps, horse shoes, award winning Sha Nah Spa and our amazing wonderful one of a kind pool side.

What we provide is an authentic resort setting that differs from any hotel downtown. We hope that during your next stay in Santa Fe we maybe able to change your perception. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn at Vanessie
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
437 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,605 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 36 in Santa Fe
567 reviews
Casas de Guadalupe
#10 of 23 in Santa Fe
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Property: Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing