We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I enjoy visiting Santa Fe, NM at least once a year. When we found Bishops Lodge we fell in love even more with the area. The resort is family friendly. There is alway a game of croquet, ping pong or badminton being played. The pool is full and everybody is happy. It is away from Santa Fe but not too far. Perfect distance. The only drawback we had was at the restaurant. They took forever. They ended up crediting the meal. My husband rode a horse for the first time at the Lodge and really enjoyed himself. The wrangler was knowledgeable and explained everything on what to expect and what to do while riding. If you want to visit Santa Fe but are afraid it's too adult oriented this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are not satisfied with your room they will make every effort to get you a room you enjoy. (M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CMcDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I’m thrilled you had the opportunity to experience all that our resort has to offer and I look forward to passing kudos along to our “first rate” staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    126
    86
    97
    70
See reviews for
191
224
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went to ride at their stables and was very pleased. When calling prior, everyone I spoke to was quite friendly and informative.

Upon arrival I was greeted warmly by just about the most beautiful wrangler a cowboy has ever seen. I was assigned a "Prince" of a horse and had a lovely ride through the hillside.

The animals appeared well cared for, I would highly recommend riding with them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Not happy. Not happy. Not happy. Not happy. $200/night stay. AC problems in our 'superior' room EVERY NIGHT.
3 days of complaints and temporary relief but then it returned every night.

Kept it at 67 last night. Nice and cool UNTIL 2 am and then we were sleeping on top of the sheets. For this much money?
Nah!!!

No apologies from management on our AC problems. Not even a call. Heck, we get those type calls from La Quinta and Best Western hotels whenever there is a problem of some sort.

Dining room was nice but with snobby and slow waiter. We had previously seen menu and asked as to burgers and such and he smirked "that's the bar menu" and left to get menus. We had arrived after dark at 7:15 pm or so and just wanted a snack and not $24 fish plate. Older bar menu waitress was VERY nice and helpful.

We needed ice for trip and had to drive about 80 yards down to 'ice shed' to discover that IT was out of service. If you need ice for room you have to drive to 'ice shed'. Nothing close to our 'superior' (higher elevation) rooms.

We have three little dogs and like to keep environment clean by picking up their poop in poop bags. Well, no trash cans anywhere to drop them at or in our room. (Not.).

No wonder other guests let their animals' lie where it drops.
For pet owners, NO grass around except in front by pool/ spa area.
Otherwise, dogs have to poop on trail. We don't like to do that.

Pretty surroundings and nice trails but no mountain views to be has EXCEPT from the top if our small/cozy 3 car parking area.
We paid for a mountain view and got TREES. Pretty setting but not at $200/night with no mountains. Now, on our drive up from Santa Fe we saw some mountains an that was free.

No concern on management's part until we addressed it for the final time on checkout.

Never coming back. Waste of hard earned money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mikerey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are sorry you did not like our authentic Santa Fe experience. Most guest take advantage of our amenities that we have to offer on the resort like horseback riding, pony rides, free mountain biking, hiking trails, drumming circle, badminton, croquet, volleyball, kids camps, horse shoes, award winning Sha Nah Spa and our amazing wonderful one of a kind pool side.

What we provide is an authentic resort setting that differs from any hotel downtown. We hope that during your next stay in Santa Fe we maybe able to change your perception. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really enjoyed the space at Bishop's Lodge. All the rooms have a porch area, and are spaced away from one another so you never feel crowded. Watching the sunset over the hills was especially nice.

The lodge offers a shuttle into town, so accessibility is no issue.

Great pool, you can visit/feed the very friendly horses and arrange to ride them as well. The restaurant is good, but I recommend going into town for drinks or dessert (dessert menu was disappointing).

Room Tip: I recommend asking to be further from the main lodge. This will give you more privacy and put you fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Compassrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Bishop's Lodge.
We greatly appreciate it. We've created a new menu & deserts for your review on our website. Thanks for your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed our annual trip to Santa Fe every year for the last five years and this time, we decided to venture outside of the Plaza area and try the Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa. We purchased a Groupon deal that featured the same photos that are used to promote the property on all of their websites, but learned, of course after our stay when checking out, that if you purchase an online deal through a source like Groupon, you most likely will never be put in one of their nicer, more recently renovated rooms. While our room was livable, the TV reception was non-existent, the air conditioning was unreliable, one of the sinks in the bathroom sprayed water everywhere, the water temperature in the shower was scalding hot and I couldn't take a shower for 10 minutes waiting for it to cool down, and the bed was quite uncomfortable.

When we checked in, I went back to the front desk and was told they were booked and sold out but I would be first on the waiting list for a new room when possible. When checking out, the manager at the time told me they could have moved me for at least our last night there, but I was never called which I was told I would be. Lastly, beware on deal sites of the resort fee. Our Groupon deal said it would be $14.50 per day and when I got the bill at checkout it was $29/day. The manager told me it should be $14.50 per person, per day and they were kind enough to adjust it when it was brought to their attention.

I would like to have given this a better review, but our room quality and comfort was definitely poor. Will not be returning and will probably book a Plaza hotel on our trip next year.

Room Tip: Do not purchase on Groupon and expect to get the rooms that are shown in photographs. The front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are sorry you did not like our authentic Santa Fe experience. Most guest take advantage of our amenities that we have to offer on the resort like horseback riding, pony rides, free mountain biking, hiking trails, drumming circle, badminton, croquet, volleyball, kids camps, horse shoes, award winning Sha Nah Spa and our amazing wonderful one of a kind pool side.

What we provide is an authentic resort setting that differs from any hotel downtown. We hope that during your next stay in Santa Fe we maybe able to change your perception. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just returned from my second stay at Bishop's Lodge.
It is a beautiful resort that is just a short drive from the Plaza.
We needed a handicap room and were very pleased with the size of the room and bathroom.
If you are looking for something sleek and modern...this is not the place.
But if you want something 'off the beaten path', then you will love this resort.
We did not take advantage of the horseback riding or some of the other things available, but I saw a large group of riders heading out early one morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I’m thrilled you had the opportunity to experience all that our resort has to offer and I look forward to passing kudos along to our “first rate” staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying two nights at Bishop's Lodge. We were trying to use the latest app on our phones to book a room but couldn't get it to work so we asked the front desk to match the advertised price. The front desk clerk was happy to match the price and we felt like we got a great deal on the room. We are both from Santa Fe and have always heard about Bishop's Lodge and its beauty. We came back for my husband's 30 year class reunion and had a fabulous time at the resort. I had no idea of the beauty the resort had until we drove up. The resort is well maintained, had so many activities and was inviting for all. There were old couples, young couples, and families. Our room was clean, decorated Santa Fe style and lots of room and light. We had a private balcony overlooking the grounds and even free snacks in our room. We woke up had breakfast on the outside patio again overlooking the resort. The coffee was hot and served up quickly from the staff. After coffee we drove a short way to downtown and then came back again for the reunion festivities. We had several meals at the resort that were all prepared fresh and served up nicely. If you want a weekend getaway but want to be close enough to enjoy downtown don't miss this opportunity. Being from Santa Fe, I know that this is a bargain and not to be missed. Thanks Bishop's Lodge for your hospitality. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I must first thank you for taking the time to review your time at Bishop’s Lodge. I’m thrilled you had the opportunity to experience all that our resort has to offer and I look forward to passing kudos along to our “first rate” staff.

We do offer both renovated rooms and traditional rooms that keep in line with Bishop’s Lodge’s authentic history. Again, we so appreciate your kind words and we hope you’ll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Sunrise Springs Spa Resort
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas de Santa Fe
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Property: Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing