We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just returned from another visit to Santa Fe and The Bishop's Lodge. I must admit that I am most partial to this place. We have stayed there as a family for over 20 years and expect that we will do so again next year.

We had a great time. While we take full advantage of what Santa Fe has to offer, it is great to come back to the lodge in the evening to have drinks in the lodge or on the deck. Unfortunately, we did not get to horseback ride or go skeet shooting this time. A quiet walk on the property in the evening is the best thing for the spirit. I love doing Taiji out by the pool and watching the sun rise. We tend to be creatures of habit; and requested the same suite we had the last two years. Enough room for us and close to the main lodge. The staff was courteous and helpful. While areas of the lodge can use some improvement, I would recommend it, especially for families.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luvaghn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 638 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed there for three days and all I have to say is the only thing this place can "boast" about are their run-down, dirty and overpriced rooms. The entire property needs work.
We had a room (# 107) with no chance to see the sun and/or the sky.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mariner951_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We review all our guest comments and concerns on a daily basis.

I'm sorry you did not like your room. We feature images of our rooms on online for your convenience before booking your reservations. We normally accommodate all requests given to the front desk. If we did not go over and beyond to meet this request I sincerely apologize on behalf of our team.

I invite you and all our guest to take advantage of our kids day and evening camps on the grounds, hiking trails, stables, pony rides, tennis, badminton, volleyball, horseback riding, spa, lovely pool and mountain biking. Most guests enjoy the 450 acres of national forest views that surrounds the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Bishps lodge is a Great resort. It has Beautiful grounds. The restaurant is excellent. The rooms are not expensive. A 5 minute drive to Santa Fe. And on top of it all they have great horses. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monchotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This resort is set in a lovely landscape. We stayed in a deluxe room which had a separate large living area, and a nice private patio, but the room's decor and amenities overall are average at best.
We purchased a special deal package from a listing on LuxuryLink.com -From the looks of that listing I was expecting a quiet mountain spa resort complete with lounging by the relaxing pool and taking in that amazing view. Though upon arrival Saturday we realized there were loud families with kids everywhere, and the pool with the amazing view (which is pictured on Luxury Link) was in a separate part of the property and reserved for the Bishops Villa Owners only. Luckily the staff was very accommodating when we expressed our frustration about this and let us have use of the Villa's pool for the duration of our stay.
The Spa treatments were professional and left my skin feeling good. The spa's indoor/ outdoor lounge area with the garden is lovely. Given the situation with the noisy main pool, I would recommend getting a spa treatment each day and just lounging by their small hot tubs if you're looking to just relax like we were.
Overall I felt like the amenities did not measure up to the price tag of this expensive resort. Though I found a great deal with Luxury Link, I don't think I would stay here again (and I surely wouldn't pay full price to).

Room Tip: This is a sprawling property with lots of hills. If you have trouble with stairs or walking up steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DallasTX_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've grown up in Santa Fe and occasionally go the Bishop's Lodge, however, I've never had the opportunity to be there for a great length of time. We just had our HS 30 year reunion and it was just perfect! The rooms are beautiful and have a great blend of current and old school decor! The grounds are beautiful, the pool is lovely, the staff is incredible. The staff was willing to go above and beyond to meet our needs! We kind of took over the entire resort, staff and guests were incredible!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for such a great review. It was a pleasure to host your reunion here at Bishop's Lodge. We wish you the best and hope you all can come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We love Bishop's Lodge and have stayed every year for many years. Away from the hustle and bustle of the Plaza. The rooms are large and comfortable. The grounds are lovely. Great amenities.The pool is great (except that kids can get noisy, particularly in the afternoon). The staff really makes an effort. I had a superlative hot stone message from Jennifer this year. We tend to eat our meals at the Tesuque Market -- since the F&B is nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room -- which have better light, views and porches. The second floor porches are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyManshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Staying at one of the villas provided beautiful views of Santa Fe's Sangre de Christo Mountain. The villa was a beautiful example of southwestern architecture and design. The numerous patios allowed for outdoor relaxation. Although we found the villa comfortable the bedding was not fresh and smelled of dust for too much time between guests. Several doors could not be locked, screens needed replacing, patios needed to be swept and cleaned,sliding glass doors were off track. Bathtubs are slippery having no bath mats of any type. Bath rails are not provided. Staff is very helpful and courteous when complaints are made but management does not pay attention to the details of running such property smoothly:Accommodations promised at time of booking are not honored at arrival. My family which includes a toddler and a senior citizen had to drive to 3 separate villas since the first did not meet accommodations requested. A key given to the pool did not work and 1 1/2 hours was used waiting for correct key, heater in pool was not working and had to drive to another pool. Such a beautiful and unique property deserves more detailed attention from management in order to allow guests a truly pleasurable experience. Management has dropped the ball and does not utilize the full potential of what a resort can provide to make guests comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lionelfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about Bishop’s Lodge Ranch Resort & Spa.
I first would like to thank you about tor the nice comments mentioned in your review about our wonderful Villas. After researching your stay, I discovered the reservation specialist did not provide you an ADA room you may have needed. You booked a Villa that did not have the requirements for ADA. Our vials are very high end and are not really equipped for the stay and accommodations you required. We sincerely apologize for that.
Our villas are privately owned; Bishop’s Lodge manages over 10 of them separately. Each villa is thoroughly inspected 24 hour upon a guest arrival. As you can see from most of our reviews from previous Villa guest on Trip Advisor they usually rave about the accommodations and surrounding views. Our villas are the best product we offer our guest they are located high have the resort and are nestled in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. Natural wind and storm elements may have had a part in the outdoor patio area. When you checked out you were very happy about us reducing your rate from $699 per night to $349 per night. We had hoped this had compensated for your concerns and our mistake. We addressed your concerns in the proper manner. If you feel we did not do enough or go beyond your expectations please feel free to call us we would like to change your perception and experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn at Vanessie
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
450 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,830 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casas de Guadalupe
#9 of 24 in Santa Fe
23 reviews
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 37 in Santa Fe
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $129 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing