We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Got a special on travelzoo. This hotel is beautiful, in a great location, and very relaxing. The spa products smell amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank roundtheworld077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 637 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2008

I got an exceptional deal on a room ($97) from an on-line booking agent, and, for that, the room in the Chimera Lodge was an exceptional deal. Clean, large, gas fireplace, everything relatively new, and worked well. All in a very beautiful setting. I was not excited about the $29 resort fee I was charged on top of the room rate, however. I only ate one breakfast at the restaurant and ordered off the menu. I thought it was very good.

Parking can be a bit of a pain if there's an event going on, as when I was there (large wedding).

Would I pay the $300-$400 rack rate for the room? Naaaah, but if you can get it at the right price, I think it is a value.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Leaky ceilings, broken chairs, and staff that does not understand English, are not hallmarks of luxury resort hospitality. BTW, 24 hour security does not exist on this property. A member of the staff felt compelled to tell me so.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank robar66389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

OK, both my fifteen year old daughter and I are puzzled by the bad reviews we have seen here. We have been coming to the Bishop's Lodge for years. I am writing this review now in my suite there overlooking grazing horses in a paddock, a fire in my kiva fireplace and the remnants of this mornings breakfast are surrounding me. My room is so wonderfully spacious, clean and exceptionally well decorated.
The staff here were very helpful, and could not be more friendly.

I smell the sage from the surrounding hills, I am relaxed, happy and relishing the next time my life allows me to make tracks here again.

We have stayed at other places, historic wonderful places in Santa Fe, and while they were all lovely, Bishop's Lodge has unquestionably surpassed them all.
I am honestly baffled by the negative reviews here. I for one enjoy a margarita by the kiva fireplace on the outdoor patio overlooking the hills of Tesuque.

Stayed: April 2008
5  Thank beekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

This hotel was quite a surprise for me. The website made it look dirty & dingy and I'm a total clean freak. But....my company was having meetings there so I didn't have a choice. The rooms were huge & the food was good. The meeting breaks were great! At one point they had a man made-up like a pineapple with his head through the edge of the table. You heard someone talking to you but didn't know where it was coming from - everyone really got a kick out of it.

My one complaint would be that a lot of the staff didn't speak English. They did a good job but weren't overly friendly. Not rude just not the smiling, fun type.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank OSUjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We've waited since our October 2007 visit to Bishop's Lodge to see TA reviews. Our experience last fall has been confirmed by others: Bishop's Lodge is totally overpriced, poorly managed, with ageing rooms, smelly fireplaces, lack of maintenance, and overall, a staff that falls woefully short because a service culture does not exist. Upon arrival, as we exited our car and began removing our luggage, the bellman, staring at us while leaning on a doorjam at the front door, didn't move toward us or help us until WE carried our obviously 4 heavy bags up the front steps to lobby level. We changed rooms twice the first day. Both reeked of smoke from inefficient fireplaces. Walking to the third room with a bellman, we tripped on the crumbling cement walkway surface, my wife turning an ankle. "We had a rough winter back in 2006," the bellman explained. Curious. That was some 6-8 months ago. Returning to our room at night, the walk became a minefield. We chose to navigate the grass. The restaurant is to be avoided. Breakfast is slow, overpriced, short on staff, and waiters never look at you or come back. The kitchen can't produce fast enough, and the buffet is a mess. After a day trip, we passed by the dining room reception stand and asked the young hostess there what time the restaurant closed for dinner. "I don't know," she said. Incredulous, and to give her the benefit, we asked again, only to get the same answer. No, she did not attempt to find out, just stared ahead. Oh my. Further, the entire main floor of the hotel, serving the bar, lounge and main dining room, has but one small restroom (1 mens and 1 womens). Incredible, as was a shade covering a large picture window in our room. Rather than a typical fabric shade or drape, the hotel had STAPLED -- yes stapled -- a large piece of PAPER over the window. The room key did not work twice, and we had to walk some distance to get another (not being able to get in the room to call). The Lodge's website boasts "luxurious lodging," but this is a myth, at least the 3 rooms we saw. Most notable was a total lack of front desk leadership. It is always comforting to know there is someone in charge, someone with competence to get things done correctly. But here, only poorly informed and argumentative people at the front desk, projecting the feeling that they did not want us to approach. Over 5 days, we saw no one who resembled a senior person who was ever present to take charge and make things happen, just unprepared staff -- unsure, hesitant, unempowered. I would not stay here again for free. Enough already; you get the picture.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ambleside89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

I wish I could tell you how wonderful the Bishop's Lodge was for us on our honeymoon, but in this case I cannot. As a mid-grade officer in the military my wife and I planned a wonderful escape in Santa Fe after our wedding in Seattle. I was scheduled to deploy one week after the honeymoon so this was a very special time. We booked our reservation directly with the lodge well in advance and were assured of a wonderful room. However, shorlty before our wedding date we were informed that we had be "bumped" by a party who rented the entire resort after we had made our reservation. They now had no room for us, sorry. Much "heartfelt" appologies from the general manager. They were more than happy to book us into another motel in Santa Fe. Great.... I'd just like to thank the staff and owners for this inconsiderate gesture. I'd also like to warn all the folks out there who think they have "reservations", especially the newlyweds and military personnel traveling from afar, that you might want to have a back-up plan. This kind of business practice in the hospitality industry is unacceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
10  Thank Surfman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,708 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 61 in Santa Fe
2,499 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $149 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing