We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful nature-based property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed February 25, 2013

While the Bishop's Lodge just celebrated 95 years and some rooms can feel "rustic" as a result, staying here next to the National Forest is overall a beautiful experience. The spa and pool area are first-rate as is Sunday brunch.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, move up from the traditional room and get an upgrade with a fireplace. Wood is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 638 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had our daughter's wedding at the Bishops Lodge in September. The staff was very accomadating and Kristina was the best and most helpful wedding planner. We had not been to Bishops Lodge ever and I was very dependant upon the people that Kristina recommended and they all did a great job. The courtyard was transformed very nicely. The food was great too. We had a little problem with the cocktail hour in that we were overcharged for mixed drinks but the food and beverage manager was very accomadating and took care of the problem. Family members did not stay at the Bishops Lodge so I cannot comment on their accomadations. The suite they gave the bride and groom was lovely with a fire place. The outside patio and furniture was not very clean but that was the only negative that I saw.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent Christmas 2012 at the Lodge. We were pleased. Our room was spacious and nice.
They really catered to the kids for Christmas which was nice.
It has great trails.
The buildings are a ways apart so plan on walking.
Pool is nice.
Gym okay.
Restaurant is good but SLOW!
Room service was very slow at first but got better.
It is out of town but the drive isn't too bad to area attractions.
Did not use spa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Bishop's Lodge did not live up to their reputation. The place is not being kept up. We had to ask several times for sand on the road up to our room so we could drive the car down to exit the property. The chef is excellent. We were locked out of our room and standing in the cold
three times because our room card keys did not work. They did not shovel the walk to our room until almost 4 in the afternoon and did not make up the room until almost the same time and we had to ask for it to get done. The room and bath were just ok but for $250.00 should have been much nicer. Our friends staying there had the same comments.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BishopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Bishop's Lodge Ranch Resort would like to thank you for your candid review. I apologize for the resort not meeting your expectations during your December visit.

There are some things we can not control and that is weather. In December we had our biggest winter snow storm and it sounds like this occurred during your stay. We had engineers working around the clock trying to cover over 450 acres of grounds ensuring everyone safety including guest as well as the staff. I understand your frustration but we strive to meet every guest request especially when safety is a concern within a reasonable time table.

Please accept our sincerest apology if we could not get sand on the road in a more quicker manner or time frame. This is the first complaint we have received regarding this issue.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our wonderful chef Chris McLean from the Las Fuentes Restaurant. He makes it a point to meet and greet everyone and is so appreciative.

Please feel free to call me anytime so that I may have an opportunity to change your opinion about this wonderful resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This Lodge is beautiful. Located on 450 acres it offers single, double as well as casita accommodations. The food never failed to impress and satisfy. Given I was attending a retreat and therefore all meals were provided by their excellent culinary staff for my 5 day stay.

Our room had a fireplace, small refrigerator, there was a welcome basket w/salsa and chips upon our arrival. The local paper was delivered daily to our front door.

Attractions that I took advantage of were horseback riding and an amazing drumming circle led by Jade. She was amazing and the experience was transformational.

The staff was remarkable...from the young man who provided firewood to the staff who drove the shuttles, food servers, front desk staff, housekeeping and on site maintenance personnel.

Words fall short...it was wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have enjoyed spending time at Bishop's Lodge several times in the past year. My daughter always begs to go too! The high points of your resort, that sets it apart from others in the area, is the family focus, historical entrenchment, and the mountain location at this unique area! It is so relaxing and really has helped me to reconnect with family and friends in our visits and stays at Bishop's Lodge. I have found that if I really want a luxurious location, I will pay a little bit more for the recently built villas, but staying in the more rustic lodge areas are also great, as we can save some money, and still enjoy the family time, hikes, pool, visit the horses and walk up the the historic chapel as well. I recommend this to people who prioritize relaxation with family and friends in a gorgeous, natural, rural, historic area, just miles from the center of Santa Fe!

Room Tip: I you want new with great views, pay a little more for a villa, otherwise, you can save money by sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keely M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have been to Santa Fe several times over the years and have stayed at a variety of hotels and bed & breakfast locations. My recent 5-nite stay at Bishop's Lodge Casitas was the best. The casitas are newly built homes next to the Lodge that are managed by the Lodge. We had two bedrooms, 3 fireplaces, jacuzzi tub, steam shower, kitchen and dining area. Our casita was on a low hill with an amazing panoramic view. We had dinner one nite in the hotel restaurant. It was expensive, but very good and it was nice that it wasn't too busy. It was a really great stay with excellent service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davetoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,416 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,845 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $129 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing