We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Gounds are lovely. But we checked in at 6PM and went immediately to a business dinner so didn't really access room. Room 189 is large w/a porch overlooking stables. When we got back to room it was very hot, felt like heat was on full blast (40 degrees out), but thermostat said it was off so we slept all night with windows and doors open. In the morning we noticed how dirty and in bad shape the room was. Stained carpet, sticky bathroom floor, dirty corners, bugs and patio that hadt not been cleaned all season I am sure. Also, we went to a campfire dinner at hotel the next night and my husband had a $50 gift card that he had just won in a golf event zipped in his jacket. He left the jacket at the campfire and we got the jacket back the next morning the gift card was gone. The fitness room isn't nice, but the yoga class was good!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at top of hill looked newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 638 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

The staff were very nice, but the resort is in serious need of maintenance. The first room we stayed in had serious air conditioning issues -- blowing out 90+ degree cold air? The second room that we moved to at 10 pm was nice, but again the maintenance is lacking. Sidewalks are broken, the grounds were not well kept. Overall impression was a little shabby.

We had dinner at their restaurant. The hostess was wonderful, however, our waiter was not at all attentive and the food was only fair.

We were somewhat disappointed.

Room Tip: The higher up in the resort gives a nicer view and is quieter. Roads and parking are not very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank passionateknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We had all 4 seasons the weekend we stayed at Bishop's Lodge. We checked in on a beautiful, sunny spring Friday night and checked out Sunday morning in the snow. It was a wonderful weekend of walks, wonderful food, fires in the fireplace and even a spa treatment. The staff was so gracious and helpful, and the stack of firewood was replenished frequently. Can't wait to have the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: We stayed a beautiful suite. There is a big variety of rooms available so I suggest talking to someo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Two nights at The Lodge was a great weekend getaway for my wife and I.

The staff was very attentive, the history and beauty of this resort makes you feel like you never want to leave .

It snowed the last day of our stay so we built a fire in our room and enjoyed the day. It really does feel more like a home than a hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed up in one of the Vista de Valle rooms and it was an oasis of peace at the top of the hill. We had the yellow hiking trail right out the back door that leads down to a creek and waterfall, just a beautiful walk to take every morning. The grounds were in bloom and beautiful. Our room was comfortable with a couch and chair by the fireplace and a nice bed with soft linens. It's not a new cookie cutter hotel, it has charm, grace and a few wrinkles, it's full of character and beauty and has wonderful staff who are it's caretakers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Another wonderful experience at Bishop’s Lodge for the New Mexico Museum of Art Docents and Volunteer thank you afternoon tea! The entire staff was professional, friendly, helpful and courteous. The food in was exceptional, “the Art of Food & Views,” a wonderful way to say thank you to our volunteers! Thank you Bishop’s Lodge

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorraineRotunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed at Bishop's Lodge on the advice of a friend. The grounds are beautiful, with spectacular views (particularly sunsets) over the mountains from our porch. The in-room chips and salsa greeting was also a nice touch! We used the spa and give both the massage and the facial high marks. Also really appreciated the free wifi. The room we stayed in was very spacious (two queen bed suite) but was definitely in need of an upgrade. The outdoor patio furniture was cracked/broken, the indoor room furnishings and bath area definitely could use a freshening up, but we liked some of the authentic Santa Fe furnishings.

Room Tip: We stayed in a unit which is near the top of the hill, it was a bit of a hike to get there but had b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karleshyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn at Vanessie
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
449 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casas de Guadalupe
#9 of 24 in Santa Fe
23 reviews
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 37 in Santa Fe
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $129 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing