We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Has Huge Potential But Right Now Make Sure You Get It On Sale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Place Has Huge Potential But Right Now Make Sure You Get It On Sale”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Let me first preface this review by saying that for what I payed, this place was very enjoyable, but for the price that I've seen it advertised, I would have been very disappointed. First room we were given was old, dirty and generally depressing. We were moved to a much nicer room that was very romantic. The staff was helpful and friendly, the food and room service was very good. The property seems to be falling apart a bit. The building's are in bad need of re-stuccoing, there are sidewalks and stairs that are crumbling and disintegrating. The spa was adequate and the swimming pool seemed nice, although it was too cold to enjoy. The location is great, just a quick 5-10 minute jaunt down Bishop's Lodge Road takes you right into the plaza in Santa Fe. This place has major potential and you can tell that in the past it was an amazing place. Sadly, it seems to be losing its luster a bit, hopefully they can tighten up some of their issues and this property could be top notch.

Room Tip: Make sure you see your room before you lug your bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denverdeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    126
    86
    97
    70
See reviews for
191
224
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

As an avid traveler, I have always researched months in advance and each detail of my trip. I decided to take my Dad to Santa Fe, NM to celebrate his 60th birthday and I found the Bishop's Lodge nearly immediately. I started to book it but saw some of the negative reviews posted on this site. I then became hesitant and began researching other places. I would say I studied nearly every place in Santa Fe and almost booked another hotel located in the city. I then made contact with two of the managers at the Bishop's Lodge. They immediately sold me on it and I booked. I felt completely confident in this decision. From the time we walked onto the property, I knew I had made the right choice. As soon as you drive out the road to the lodge, there is a peace that you can only imagine once you have been there. It's so beautiful and peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet you're very close and access is easy. While we were at the Bishop's Lodge we were treated so special by every member of the team... From management to wait staff to the spa and stable employees, front desk, etc. While in Santa Fe, I visited many of the other hotels that I considered and I cannot tell you how glad I was that we stayed there. If you want to visit Santa Fe and get the true feeling of the peace and beauty of the land, there's no other place but here to get it. And when we traveled other places in the state, faces of people lit up when the Bishop's Lodge was mentioned, as it is well known and so many people have fond memories of it. There is no comparison and I urge others to ignore some of the negative reviews, as I did and realize that the history and the peace and splendor of this beautiful place is simply amazing. We stayed in one of the amazing villas and I highly recommend them. The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained. The staff and management is wonderful, the stables and horseback riding are so enjoyable---wranglers are absolutely fabulous, spa is to die for --highly recommend the tee pee massage-- staff is second to none at the spa.. Best massage I have ever had (and I have had a lot and been to some of the best spas in the country), restaurant and dining experience was amazing!!! We had a delicious birthday dinner and dessert and also enjoyed a spectacular brunch on the patio, amongst the peace and beauty of the property. We did not have time to use many of the other things there that they offer, such as the pool and hot tubs, skeet shooting and tennis courts and trails... But they're very well maintained and we will definitely use them next time. There is so much more to offer here at the Bishop's Lodge and I urge others to experience this property for all it has to offer. If you want to visit Santa Fe and truly soak up the history and beauty of it, this is where to stay. They're very accommodating too and any special requests will be honored. I cannot imagine having stayed anywhere else and we will absolutely return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amberlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Attended a Women's Retreat this weekend held at this property.
Pros: They upgraded us to deluxe rooms free of charge! The service was good and staff very friendly! Scenery was absolutely GORGEOUS! It was very quiet and peaceful and perfect for our PWOC retreat! Shuttle that ran into Santa Fe at three different times a day.

Cons: The shower in our room had no hot water. We had to call twice in one day to have it "fixed". In their defense, they sent a gentleman quickly to rectify the problem. As part of our package, we were fed two dinners, two breakfasts, and one boxed lunch to go as part of our contract. The food was served buffet style and was mediocre at best! I was very disappointed and HUNGRY! :-) However, others in my group thought it was good. I was unable to experience the dining room, so I truly have no opinion on the quality.

There are stables right there on the property and an opportunity to ride if you so desired. A few ladies did go and enjoyed the ride immensely! The pool was heated and clean and many enjoyed the hot tub. You could rent mountain bikes and ride the trails but be aware it is not for the beginner! The spa.....well, that experience is going to be based on what you have enjoyed in the past and what you consider the value of services to be. I, personally, felt that they were way overpriced for what you were getting! Also, there are no prices on the website. After sending an email to the address listed asking for a price list for the services, I received no response.

Would I go again??? Absolutely~It was a great weekend and the overall experience was very nice!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room facing the city of Santa Fe....gorgeous at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

After all the negative reviews on this site over the last year I was a bit reluctant to try the great Luxury Link deal offered for Bishop’s Lodge. The fact is –the place is in an incredibly beautiful setting, the people are delightful and the food was good. We arrived with reservations for a Deluxe Double but for only $50 were upgraded to a 3 bedroom villa—complete with full kitchen, 4 flat screen TVs and a patio view of the valley and the mountains that was breathtaking. I’m afraid that villa set a new standard for excellence that will be difficult to beat in future travels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biznews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I had heard so many nice things about Bishop's Lodge that I decided to treat myself to a getaway. I was disappointed. First of all, the blinds in the door were broken and wouldn't shut completely. The carpet was stained. The tv was old and hard to see from the bed. The bathroom was really outdated - the shower head was an oxygenator that sounded like a leaf blower, there were controls to things that weren't even there anymore, and behind the door is a metal door stop mounted on the floor in front of a heater unit that doesn't seem to work anymore.
At $175 a night this was not even a value for Santa Fe. It appears that the new owners don't want to put any money into the property. That's a shame because Bishop's Lodge could be something special. Right now it is nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landlocked50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Beautiful resort, spacious deluxe king accomodations, quiet and peaceful, the beauty of nature surrounding resort.
A bit out of the way but well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I had our 25th Wedding Anniversary party at the Lodge and it was superb. The setting was stunning, the room was perfect, the food and service was excellent. Our friends enjoyed it as much as we did! The managing director made every effort with attention to each and every detail. We would recommend the Lodge to anyone looking for a perfect place for a wedding, anniversary or any other special occasion. We also spent the night and the accomodations were wonderful! We love The Bishops Lodge!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn at Vanessie
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
428 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 36 in Santa Fe
556 reviews
Don Gaspar Inn
#15 of 36 in Santa Fe
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Property: Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing