We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #41 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Peoria, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We upgraded our room to stay in a deluxe suite because we have a toddler. Everyone sleeps much better if we sleep separately. The living space was spacious and comfortable. However, we did have numerous issues. First, when we arrived, our original room layout was not what we requested. The front desk found another suite that met our requirements, but we did have to wait over an hour. While the upgraded room was nice, the toilet did not work and in fact flooded the bathroom (very gross)! The heat was not working properly and the radiator that was brought to us didn't stand upright. A minor issue was the drops of condensation that would periodically drip from the windows in the ceiling. On the last night, our room keys didn't work. The front desk failed to fix the problem, so we would have had to drive back to the front desk had we not bumped into a worker who let us into our room. While the issues were significant, the staff handled the problems promptly and were very nice. They agreed to eliminate the charge for the upgraded room because of our trials and tribulations. Once the kinks were worked out, we had a nice stay. Because there were some aspects that were great but some aspects that were not so great, I would have to rate the place neutrally.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoycePeoria_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    126
    86
    97
    70
See reviews for
191
223
27
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed there recently, and all I have to say is the only thing this place can "boast" about are their run-down, dirty and overpriced rooms. The entire property needs work.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NoPuppyMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay at Bishop's Lodge for one evening on a business trip. Overall, I found the hotel just OK. The room was very rustic, perhaps a bit too rustic for my tastes. There were a number of flies in the room. Moreover, the shower was consistently cold.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YGlobalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

You'll read about the poor service and not great restaurant at Bishop's Lodge but look again at the private villas which you can rent through the Lodge on the website. I recently stayed in a newer lodge room and it was ok, but I just stayed at private villa #38B and it was FABULOUS. Two couples can share this very spacious and beautifully decorated private space with several fireplaces for far less than one of the downtown resorts and you will not regret it. You get a fabulous place, your own very nice pool and hot tub beside your villa separate from the Lodge's older facilities, and amazing views up in the hills. Dine elsewhere in Santa Fe where the food is superb, enjoy the Ten Thousand Waves spa which is about 15 minutes away, but stay in the villas at Bishop's Lodge which is about 10 minutes from the plaza by car....it is a very different experience than the Lodge itself.

Room Tip: Ask for the private villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetrueloveco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My first stay, was a very spacious, sterile, well appointed room, with a Kiva, in March 2007, in the newer section, with a porch facing a mountain stream. My 2nd stay was a single room, in January of 2011, in the original Lodge, equally 1st class, but smaller. Both times, the staff, were very accomodating, the Sunday brunch is awesome, and, the Sha Na Na Spa, my motive for staying here, is No.1, in the world, for me, just ahead, of LaCosta, in Carlsbad, California. I plan on many return visits..as this resort is under-rated, and deserves a 4 Diamond rating with AAA
The mixed ratings I feel are due to the rustic settings, choose a newer bldg, & larger room, or Suite/Lodge if you desire, a non-rustic room, just like @Hotel del Coronado, San Diego. (older section vs. newer section) Off season rates offer some significant savings. The Spa is a must for every adult!!! I have utilized Sha Na Na Spa 4 times since March of 2007 vs. Tucson Az super resorts, (Tucson Omni National & Loew's Ventana Canyon Ranch) & Mauna Lani Bay Resort (Big Island) comparing Spas, and, this is my all time favorite, due to charismatic, expert staff @ Sha Na Na Spa.

Room Tip: The larger rooms, larger suites, and, most luxurious accomodations, are in the newer sections, (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

As we got to the room, we realized the room sure did not look like the pics on any of the sites. I was slightly dissappointed. The place is indeed extremely rustic and in need of a major renovation. For the price, I was expecting a little more. The rooms walls had scuff marks and there were spider webs all over the place. Do not eat on the patio as no one will attend to you. Several of the guests got up to request service at their tables. The lodge offers room to roam and other activities, but if you are looking for a higher end establishment stay in plaza.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redorgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed for four nights in August and had a wonderful time. We had room 189 in the Juniper Lodge which was the last room on the edge of the resort looking over the stables. We have read criticisms of this lodge (the smell of the horses etc.) but for us it was a fabulous experience and what we would expect from a ranch style resort. The lodge had a really spacious deck area which we sat out on a lot and it was really peaceful.

Our room was large and well equipped including a fridge. It was comfortable and clean although the decor is quite dark (the style of the area) and a little dated.

We had several meals in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. We also enjoyed a Brazillian night with live music and terrific food (my teenage son's favourite meal of the holiday!)

The resort is only five minutes drive from the plaza but it is so tranquil and peaceful. The pool area was nice too.

The hotel is not a cheap option so I can understand people expecting a lot from it and maybe the rustic feel is a disappointment to some, but for us it was perfect and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Juniper Lodge is at the end of the resort and looks over the stables. It has a lovely large deck an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 23betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Property: Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing