We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We knew when we booked this lodge that it was not on the plaza. We did not expect to have to drive so far to get a bite to eat or a drink. The one resort dinning option is ok for 1 day but not if your spending several day's.

This resort presented itself as a higher end resort, it probably was in it's "hey day". They desperately need to put some money into the property. Beware of the sidwalks, all are crumbling. Our tub\shower was molded and instead of cleaning they tried to cover it up with caulking.

The beds are old and need to be upgraded. You'll need ibuprophen in the AM for sure.
No air conditioner only a fan! It was miserable at night.

Beware of room service. We ordered breakfast and found that the menu was not up to date. The person on the phone gave me the options and helped me place my order. What she did not disclose is that the menu prices had drastically changed. When the food was delivered we were shocked to see the bill.

Overall this property in overrated. I'm sure several years ago it may have been a nice place but they need to reinvest some money to bring it back up to par.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 638 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

The restaurant is amazing great food! Service very nice and grounds beautiful. OK that's all that is positive. The rooms were awful the air conditioning was so old and loud it kept us up all night. We couldn't open the window or doors due to the smell of smoke from the Arizona fires. I heard another woman in another room complain to the front desk the air conditioner kept her up as well. So I assume all the rooms have this problem. The mattress was so uncomfortable. and the room had a huge Beetle bug crawling around it wasn't clean enough for my standards. It was old and too rustic for me. Don't waste your money this is a one star hotel. It wasn't cheap either!! We left after one night flew to Vegas due to the fires. We finished our vacation there stayed at the Cosmopolatian hotel. Wow what a difference night and day to the dump at Bishop's lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zoey12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Every year girlfriends and I celebrate our birthdays with a weekend trip to Santa Fe - we have stayed many places - the most important thing for us is good food wine and fire and place to sit and catch up - The Bishop's Lodge has all of this and more- we didn't have to leave the Lodge's grounds for anything - until it was time to go and even then it was hard. Our dinner in the restaurant was sublime - the food choices unique and local with flavor - our spa treatments were calming and new discoveries were made - we woke to the chapel bells chiming letting us know we had missed our pilates class but that is was time for coffee - we are planning to return again and again -

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMEBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We are locals and we love to come to the spa. We love Daniel, Tim and Kimberly. The BEST massage therapist in the country!

Cub & Sharon Dillard

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubby48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I love Santa Fe. I love its wonderful downtown, the mountains, the people, the restaurants. The hotels are all pretty good! I like La Fonda, the amazing Inn of the Five Graces (which is better than the Bishop's Lodge....but that is for another review).

I stayed here for the first time and loved it. Great rooms, service, food, etc. Just enough out of town to avoid the bustle. Peace and quiet, beautiful views and none of the "shtick"

Room Tip: If you are willing to walk up the hill-better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fracmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I was with my sister from Oregon in the upgraded room on May 20, 2011. There were 5 of us and the manager worked with us the day we arrived to get us connecting rooms. The room connecting to us was not to the original room. That is how we knew "how nice the rooms are supposed to look". What a wonderful experience we would have had if both had rooms look like they were supposed be! When we told the lady at checkout about the room to let them know, she offered us breakfast. We waited for at least 10 minutes with the manager walking by us. No one talking to us and decided it is not worth it. They were not busy in the restaurant. If customer satisfaction is not that important, we will take our business elsewhere. We loved the other room, but we did not love the lack of attention. We left our checklist with a "detailed" list for them to improve the handicapped room (that we did not request) for the next guest. We left on a bitter note, and will not be back.

Room Tip: Go see the room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DandyFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This is my second time to stay at Bishops Lodge and it was not 4 star. We had many maintance issues plus they stuck us in a handicapped room. Beautiful setting in mountains but they need to get their rooms in order before you check in! Will not go back

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bossysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,417 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,845 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $129 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing