We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit”
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2010

This is my fourth trip to Santa Fe since 2004, and my fourth stay at the Old Santa Fe Inn. It is difficult to say whether I keep coming back because of Santa Fe or because of the charm of this hotel!

As always, the staff are very friendly and helpful. I arrived at around 2pm, and my room was surprisingly available already (usually rooms are not ready before the 4pm check-in time). This time I stayed in room #6, a junior queen suite, and it was immaculately clean and fresh. The room was upstairs, and close to Galisteo street, but I didn't notice much sound from the street. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom small but adequate, the TV (a flat-screen model) and remote worked, and there weren't any burned out lightbulbs! A large armoire gave plenty of closet space and hangers, as well as a room safe (large enough for my laptop), and the bathrobes were a nice touch.

In the four times I've stayed here, I've stayed in four different type rooms, but all were comfortable and well-maintained. There are numerous other hotels in Santa Fe with high ratings here on TripAdvisor, and though I've considered staying elsewhere, something about the Old Santa Fe Inn keeps drawing me back. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdbhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,299 - 1,305 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night, and we both really loved it. Everything about our stay was just right: the price, the rooms, the comfort, and the service. The old school, but stylishly updated open gravel parking lot positioned in the center of all the rooms allowed us to park right in front of our door, which was nice, but what was even nicer was not needing to get in the car at all to see the sights. The location of this place is super ideal. Our room was super cozy and clean with a cute little southwestern style fireplace in the corner, and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. It's an awesome little getaway spot... We'd love to stay here again in the near future.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank codastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Spent three nights here beginning 10-21-10 and found the Inn to be a real winner. Location and proximity to about everything you go to Santa Fe for is very convenient. We were put off just a bit when we realized that most all rooms are ground floor, opening up to a central parking area (motel-like). But that really did not detract from our overall enjoyment of the Inn, and everything else about the Inn is really quite wonderful. The staff addressed us by name from day one, even though we had not had any real dealings with them other than a speedy check-in. The King Jr. Suite we had was very clean and spacious. Our refrigerator was up and running when we got there, which was a big plus. So often they are not, and it takes a full day to chill things down. Our internet connection was spotty with wireless (probably because we were in a corner area) but the wired connection was fast and consistent. They provided the cable which was nice, as we did not think to pack one. The bath amenities were very nice; high quality shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, and body lotion. The extra touch of adding make-up remover pads was appreciated. Hot water was plentiful and water pressure in our shower was excellent. We loved our kiva fireplace and used it whenever in the room. They make that so easy to enjoy with the push-button on and off right there at the wall next to the unit. Microwave and safe were both clean and in perfect working condition. Our TV was a very nice LG flat screen. Can’t remember for sure, but I would guess 24 or 27 inch.

The breakfast area is extremely pleasant and the staff does an excellent job keeping the food replenished and the tables bussed. Be sure to tip them………they deserve it! The fare is pretty standard stuff: eggs, bacon, breads, fruits, cereals, waffles. The addition of tortillas and fresh chili salsa allows for making breakfast burritos if one chooses. Everything seemed fresh to us, and there is a microwave available if, like me, you often want your food a bit hotter than any buffet chafing dish can maintain. The library area off the lobby is nice and cozy. Take some time looking through the huge volumes of local restaurant menus. You will lament that you only have a limited number of nights to enjoy dinner out!

Newspapers on the front desk in the morning and warm cookies with coffee, tea, or hot chocolate in the afternoons in the library area ….who wouldn’t like those things?!? We sure did!

We really cannot say enough about the Inn and hope to stay there again. We would have one suggestion: Since the rooms are for the most part ground floor it can be uncomfortable to leave the blinds (nice wood ones by the way) open as people walk by. Guests can slant them up, but when dressing they need to be closed which makes for a pretty dreary room. We think the Inn should consider placing a rod with a drape of some sort that could separate the vanity/dressing area from the rest of the room. This would allow privacy when needed, but could be kept open when not. The bathroom that is behind a closed door (tub and toilet area only) is really too cramped for dressing. All rooms might not be laid out as ours was, but for those that are, having a curtain to separate those areas would really be a plus.

One reviewer complained about a constant noise. We asked about this.....apparently it comes from somewhere nearby, not from the property itself. It is constant, but because it is, and it is a low pitch, we pretty much tuned it out after the first few hours there. Would be nice if they could find a way to eliminate this though.

All in all, a very fine experience and a great value.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSmallwood, Manager at Old Santa Fe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2010

Thank you for your review, and for your suggestion about adding some privacy options for the dressing area. We're evaluating options of how to do this. We appreciate your patronage and thoughtfulness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stayed in a "queen suite" for 4 nights. Very clean, the bed was comfortable and the room had a fireplace, mini-frig, microwave and coffee maker. Very good breakfast was included: make-your own fresh waffles, fresh bread, burrito bar and Starbucks coffee were some of the highlights. Free newspapers, including the NY Times, was a pleasant surprise. Fresh cookies in the afternoon, served in a comfortable lounge/living room.
Close to the action - I easily walked anywhere in town from there, even w/ my less-than-optimal response to the 7000 ft altitude.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livetoeatwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Comfortable beds with lots of pillows and great linens/towels. The rooms were really clean and roomy. I might suggest an extra mirror and electrical outlet, so two people can get ready at the same time. We loved the cookies each afternoon and the good quality breakfast buffet. So close to the Plaza and great restaurants. Staff are really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2batravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Loved our stay at the Old Santa Fe Inn! Great location (with free parking!), comfortable room, with lots of character - feels like a 50s motel, but with all the modern amenities. Prices were reasonable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Old Santa Fe Inn and enjoyed it very much. We had a suite and it was very comfortable. Within easy walking distance of the Plaza, great restaurants and shopping. The staff was wonderful. The best breakfast buffet we have ever experienced. The next time we visit Santa Fe we will definitely make reservations at the Old Santa Fe Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AuntBoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,402 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,679 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 201 Montezuma Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $107 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing