We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place to stay while in Santa Fe for business or pleasure”
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I have stayed at this Inn several times and have never been disappointed with the quality of the service, food, or lodging! The rooms are clean, comfortable and reasonably priced! I especially LOVE the Kiva fireplace rooms and the breakfast bar with fresh fruit, yogurt, waffles AND a BURRITO BAR with local salsas! What a southwestern treat! Alejandra (Alex) is exceptionally friendly, helpful and knowlegable and the other staff are too. The Old Santa Fe Inn is also within walking distance to the Old Plaza and the State Capitol which has been very helpful for me!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skos05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,454 - 1,460 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2010

I decided to take a little ski trip this Winter; and I wanted to go some place I had never been before. I decided on Santa Fe for skiing and Albuquerque for a side trip/transportation destination. (I found it easier to fly to Albuquerque in my case.)

When I began looking for a place to stay, I wanted a local property which might offer something different than a chain hotel - I found The Old Santa Fe Inn. With its location so central to the Plaza and dining/shopping/historic places within walking distance; the Old Santa Fe Inn can’t be beat.

This has been a hotel/inn for decades and has been well maintained obviously. It is still a ‘destination’ for some people I spoke with who would not stay any place else in Santa Fe. I met European vacationers, baby boomers - who were property shopping to build a retirement home - and saw families with teens and younger kids. Everyone seemed to be comfortable – I know I was.

Each morning you can enjoy a good variety at breakfast; from eggs, bacon, home-fried potatoes and waffles you can make yourself. Plus, fruit, cereals, fresh breads, etc… It is a great way to start the day; and it is included in the price of the room! And, you can get fresh baked cookies in the afternoon/evening; which is a nice treat to look forward to after a day of shopping or activities. Some rooms have a gas Kiva fireplace. While it doesn’t offer much heat to the room; it is a nice affect while you are staying there.

As for dinner, you can find ‘bar food’ in the way of tacos and other quick bites in bars/taverns around the motel. But for a good meal, try The Sleeping Dog Tavern. With food offerings like Steak Frites and drink specials (House Margaritas were $4.00 while I was there) it is a very good dining experience. Note that Santa Fe has numerous restaurants, so pick one and try it.

If you want to go skiing, Ski Santa Fe is only about 20-30 minutes away on a scenic and winding road. It was fine for me (a novice skier) and had enough runs for me to enjoy the Winter weather and not be in an overcrowded resort area. (It you are expecting the A-Basin or Tahoe; this is not the ski area for you though.)

So ‘high marks’ for the Old Santa Fe Inn; go and enjoy a clean, nostalgic hotel on your next trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoFloridaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

What a terrific little hotel. Great location and very helpful staff. The breakfast was tasty and generous and the afternoon cookies and coffee very welcome on a cold snowy day. Free use of computers appreciated. A small gym but adequate. I stayed in a large one-bedroom suite with a friend but the roomy lounge area, luggage 'room', and spaciousness meant that sleeping on the sofa-bed and sharing such a space was comfortable. A five-minute walk to most shops, restaurants and museums. Just a 10 minute walk to the train station (with bags). I fell in love with Santa Fe and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank possiblyaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We booked the Old Santa Fe Inn the night before after reading reviews here on TA. We were not let down - this beautiful hotel manages to soak up all the flavour of Santa Fe and serve it up in buckets to travellers. The hotel was so tastefully decorated for the holiday season - I enjoyed it just for this.

We shared a suite with our two teenagers which meant it was a little squishy. The open fire was lovely as was the hotel supplied toiletries and coffee.

The breakfast buffet was delicious, plentiful and very pleasant.

The furniture and appointments were all in 'Santa Fe style' and was so warm and inviting I considered buying some pieces to transport to Australia!

American hotels do not appear to cater for families very well - in 8 weeks of travelling we never found a hotel with a "Family Room" as we get in Australia (1 x king bed and 2 x single or double beds).

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle_6532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Our stay here was a great one. We had our own fenced in patio, rooms were clean, service was great. You HAVE to try the breakfast burritos out. You will not regret it and you will thank me! For you light sleepers, the heater in the room was a little noisy, but this did not particularly bother me. My daughter loved the cookies in the lobby every afternoon. Staff were constantly clearing snow and spreading salt in the parking lot. I think they will even come clean your windsheild if you get snowed in. I did not have to call them as I had my own scraper. Walking distance to downtown shops. You will love it here. Maybe 5 minutes from the base of Ski Santa Fe. Once you get there maybe another 20-25 minutes up the mountain. If you are going sledding at Hyde Park, go to a local sporting goods store and buy your own for cheaper than renting.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rm328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

On Dec 7 2009 we were warmly greeted by Alex Rodriguez. She proved to be valuable to us as this was our first visit to Santa Fe and New Mexico. Always with a pleasant smile and ever ready helpful directions and suggestions (which were always reliable)made our visit much easier. The only problem is she can't be Xeroxed.!

Our room was very comfortable, both appointment and temperature wise (helped by the use of a modern heating/cooling unit not like most motels and inns). The inn location was absolutely great as it was only a 5 minute walk to the plaza, many restaurants,shops and attractions.

The free breakfast featured the usual bacon and eggs, but also avaliable was fruit, yogart and a variety of fresh baked breads from a nearby bakery. We also enjoyed the coffee/tea/hot chocolate and cookies at 4:00PM each day. And what a plesant surprise to have our car cleaned off after a snow one night!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PLCPLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Charming decor, well- located, reasonably priced downtown hotel with friendly, professional service.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jacksonMarfa_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
2,522 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#13 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,710 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,716 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 201 Montezuma Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $121 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing