We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you're at Santa Fe!!!”
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
austin, tx
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay here if you're at Santa Fe!!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Awesome place. I had initially booked the wrong room types and was trying to cancel my reservations (via priceline) on my way to New Mexico. Thank God the calls didnt go through! The staff made some adjustments to my room to get it closer to the room type I was looking for. Finally, things just worked out perfectly! The breakfast was so good, every other we stayed after that seemed way too normal. And starbucks coffee all the time!! What more could you ask for during a cold winter day? The staff were very friendly and ready to guide you all the way. The rooms were so cozy and the fireplace made it even better. The location is another HUGE plus. Just walk 5 mins to the downtown and I can guarantee that you'd have a splendid time! I've already listed Sante Fe in my upcoming places to visit list.. and I know where I'd be staying! ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arunraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    395
    71
    18
    13
See reviews for
259
895
84
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are the owners of the "Schmalz's Red Pole Ranch" near Yellowstone Park, so we can be critical about cleanliness and comfort! We went by the reviews left by other customers when I selected the Old Santa Fe Inn, as MOST ALL of them were Great! (As owners, we found that you CAN'T PLEASE EVERYONE)! We had a Western Concert to attend at the Rio Chama Restaurant (it was nice too), so we walked to it as the Inn was close to about everything we wanted to go to! The person at the desk was very friendly and we took his advice to leave our rental car at the Inn while we walked the Plaza (I believe so did everyone else as most of the vehicles were still there when we returned early afternoon) We obtained ahead of time, the only second story room at the Inn, and it was so nice! Clean, handy (a bit small inside, but we kept the door open to the area outside the door and loved sitting out there). We had a really nice Southwestern Breakfast and the day was even better! The Old Churches were something to see as well as walking through the shops!
We promised ourselves that we would go there again one day and surely will stay at the Santa Fe Inn!

Room Tip: I would take the Only Second Story room on the SW corner if it is available as it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schmalzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Loved the location, as it was within easy walking distance of the plaza and other attractions. The room was nice, with a kiva fireplace, and the free breakfast was excellent, if not a bit repetitive from day to day. Front desk staff was quick with great restaurant recommendations. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BobBeltran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This sweet hotel is all about "HOME". We enjoyed a cozy, beautiful room with fireplace, jacuzzi tub and refrigerator within in walking distance to everything we could hope to see in Santa Fe. The staff was lovely, the home-made cookies and tea were wonderful and the all you can eat breakfast burrito bar was awesome. We had so much fun! We will go back again and again. The price is so affordable and compared to the more expensive hotels we visited in Santa Fe in the past, this one was so warm and lovely and incomparable value. Thank you! The only reason it does not get a 5 is because it is quaint and small but doesn't have some of the amenities available like hot tub, larger gym and bar. However...you are one block away from everything!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony If you have a pet, they have a great pet policy The rooms are beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heathersteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

By far the most comfortable bed and pillows I have ever slept on in a hotel. The ambiance was so relaxing in the room. Fireplace in room and jets in bath and remote controlled heat/ac were an added bonus. Breakfast was delicious too. Service was above and beyond. Location was perfect walking distance to the plaza,historic churches,galleries,museums, shops, and restaurants that we had come to enjoy. Price was very affordable. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with fireplace-you will be glad you did. Save money by eating breakfast at hotel as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkras11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we were looking forward to our two night stay here. As other reviews have stated, the room was clean, but small. The breakfast is very good. It is close to the Plaza, and many restaurants. We found Nomar (?) the man who checked us in to be very helpful, let us look at the junior king suite first, and suggested some good restaurants within walking distance. There was another fellow there coming on duty about 2pm and he was not as helpful. Heard him be a little rude to some people who were inquiring about staying for three nights. Wow, what a way to discourage business.

The bad was pretty unpleasant. We were really tired by the time we went to sleep the first night. Once under the covers we could smell a strong odor of mold/mildew. It seemed to be coming from the sheets and /or mattress pad. We both slept on the far side of the bed and kept the sheets away from our faces. Next morning I reported the smell to the front desk, and asked that the mattress pad and sheets be changed on our bed that day. When we returned that night, again very tired , I climbed into bed and could still smell the mold/mildew. The sheets appeared to be changed so i can only conclude the smell was in the mattress itself. How Housekeeping could not smell it while stripping the bed is beyond me. We were so disappointed, everything else was so great at the Inn. We left at 5am the next morning as we had a long day ahead of us, but i did leave a note in the room on the bed, and a note to the front desk. I hope they changed the mattress.

Room Tip: We had no noise problems and were on the first floor, athough I do not think the Inn was full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodfoot0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

First time at this property and to Santa Fe. Staff is very hospitable; rooms well-furnished and comfortable; and breakfast is great. Location of this hotel is ideal. Within easy walking distance to Santa Fe's Plaza area. You can leave your car at the hotel; walk to the plaza area; stop at a bar or two; have dinner and never worry about driving home.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that doesn't have accommodations above. Staff switch...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,289 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,604 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,644 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Property: Old Santa Fe Inn
Address: 201 Montezuma Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing