We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Convenient location, comfortable room. Great lighting!”
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We stayed in Room 15 while visiting relatives over Thanksgiving. We've stayed in several hotels in Santa Fe and this was the best so far, and quite reasonable (I booked through Hotels.com and found that our rate was WAY less than the posted rate on the door). The location is convenient, just a few short blocks to the plaza and to one of our favorite breakfast and lunch spots, The Guadalupe Cafe. I appreciated the much better than average lighting in the room, with multiple lamps, most with 3-way bulbs. The water was hot and the bed quite comfortable, with a down comforter and an additional thick blanket. As others have mentioned, the complimentary breakfast bar is fantastic. We had the option of scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, along with tortillas which you could warm on a hot plate and add cheese and sauces to make a breakfast burrito or quesadilla; there was also a waffle maker, granola and yogurt, fruit, and a variety of tasty artisanal-style breads for toasting. There was a microwave in the breakfast room too, should you need one. And good strong coffee!

The Inn is also close to Cerrillos, making it a quick drive to Whole Foods, and other favorite restaurants - Tecolote Cafe and Mu Du Noodles. Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank P-and-J-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,598)
There are newer reviews for Old Santa Fe Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,516 - 1,522 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2007

I've stayed at the Old Santa Fe Inn a number of times, and I have always been pleased with the accomodations, the staff and the location.

This time I stayed in Room #2, a deluxe suite. I got a terrific deal for the room at Expedia, paying less for the suite than I would have paid for a smaller room. It pays to do the research! The room door is located in an awkward location near the street, and the door opens into a stairway that leads up to the room. There is a fireplace, microwave, mini-fridge and wet-bar area. The windows look out across Galisteo street onto the Bataan Memorial on the grounds of the New Mexico State Capitol. The separate bedroom is large and feels very homey, with understated Santa Fe style decor. The bathroom comes with a jetted tub, which unfortunately creaks when using the shower. There is a big counter space around the sink, and the only problem I had with the room was a burned-out light over the sink (argh!).

There are only a couple of things that you should beware of if this is your first stay here. First, don't expect to check in before the posted check-in time of 4pm. I have learned from my previous stays that this is just the way it is. I arrived this time between noon and 1pm knowing this, but I did let the deskclerk know I was there, and he gave me a parking tag for my vehicle and got all the paperwork out of the way, so that when the room was ready, all I would need to pick up was the key. Second, although the Inn is an easy 3 block walk from the Plaza area, after dark the lighting along that area is limited, and I would recommend being alert if you are out and about at night.

Overall, this is a well-maintained, reasonably priced property that I'm happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jdbhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

I stayed in room 25 which had an adjoining room option that I didn't use. My room had a fireplace, a desk/working area, an extra sink, fridge, and two televisions. My bathroom was small but I used the jacuzzi tub to help prepare an awesome bubble bath. I had a king sized bed all to myself and it was very comfy. I would have preferred a paved parking lot to make moving heavy luggage with wheels a little easier but that was a very minor pain. I got to see two other rooms: room 33 was a little dark and small but still very comfortable; and room 412 (?) that had a private roof-top patio which was very nice to sit outside with a group of friends to enjoy the warm air and stars. I thought my room was tastefully decorated and was quite comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance of two fantastic restaurants: Tomasitos and (I forgot the name of the second one). Everything seemed to be within walking distance so that was very pleasant. I wish that they would check the remote control batteries but other than that, great place to stay with a friendly staff and cute decor.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pameluh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

We arrived on a Tues and stayed through Saturday. We were very impressed with the property. The front desk was so welcoming and quick to answer all of my questions. I always have plenty. This is not a upscale hotel but that is not what we wanted. We normally book Bed and Breakfasts but as our daughters were joining us later in the week we decided to stay at a hotel. Much to our surprise the feel of this motel was more like a B &B. We loved talking to the other guests at Breakfast from which we ate so much that lunch wasn't necessary. The beds were comfortable and everything was spotless. Tea and Coffee were available at all times. In the afternoon fresh cookies and fruit were placed out. I liked that they had a hugh book of menus so that we could shop our dinner before going and they were wonderful about calling when we needed a reservation. When our daughters arrived they were booked but went out of their way to find a place for them to stay that was reasonable. On our next trip we will absolutely book this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank radman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

Hotel is in a good location. It was a motor lodge before extensive renovations. Charming rooms (although small) with modern luxurious bathrooms. Gravel parking lot (noisy and dirty). My main problem was that I pre-paid via Orbitz, specifically requesting a smoking room. Upon arrival, I was informed that the hotel does not offer smoking rooms, and the hotel would not refund my money. I found that to be a breech of the contract I had made (Orbitz said that smoking rooms were available, and that is what I had reserved), and wanted a refund, to stay elsewhere. The hotel refused.
The hotel is within walking distance of the Plaza, although to walk around that area and see the overpriced tourist shops takes less than an hour.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flaesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

This is an extremely nice hotel for the money. We paid less than $100 for a regular room. At that price, we were expecting a basic motel. But the room was very nicely furnished with classy southwestern decor. It was very clean and included a good selection of shampoos, conditioners, lotions, etc. We also had free internet, TV,etc. The bed was very comfortable. Towels were fluffy and there were plenty of them.

The breakfast was at the very high end of free hotel breakfasts. It included a good variety of hot entrees, fruit, bread, pastries, etc. Breakfast was served in an attractive breakfast room--a major step up from what you would normally expect for a free hotel buffet.

The service was good. People were friendly and efficent.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is less than a block from the historic downtown area or Santa Fe. You can walk to all restaraunts and attractions.

If you are looking for a much better than average hotel to use as a base for exploring the area, I highly recommend the Old Santa Fe Inn. It is deffinitly not a resort. People who want a hotel with a lot of common areas, a pool, a spa, etc. may not appreciate this one as much as we did. But overall, this place was a great value and a great experience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank honestyfromMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend in one of the less expensive rooms with our dog, and highly recommend it. Even though pets are allowed, the property is somehow spotless. It's fairly quiet, a short walk to the plaza, and has free parking (many hotels in town charge around $15/day). The staff is friendly and helpful, the decor is nice and seems to have been updated, and the beds are comfortable. It's a small hotel and doesn't include room service or a minibar, but there is a pretty good free breakfast bar for guests. Overall, an excellent value.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Laffalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,353 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
595 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,664 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 201 Montezuma Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $125 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing