We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to Plaza Hotels”

Casa Chimayo Restaurante
Ranked #64 of 583 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casa Chimayo’s traditional approach to preparing authentic New Mexican cuisine, or “Comida de Nueva España,” as Don Timoteo, the patriarch of the restaurant, refers to it, comes from his commitment to using Grandma’s recipes and local ingredients. Guy Fieri featured Casa Chimayo in a segment titled “Aces Of Authenticity,” on his popular Food Network show “Diners, Drive-ins & Dives, showcasing their popular blue corn enchiladas! New Mexican cuisine has evolved from a blending of Spanish and Native American ingredients, resulting in a culinary experience like no other. Don Timoteo is proud to serve authentic New Mexican dishes using fresh, local ingredients such as: red and green chile, corn, beans, blue corn, posole, tortillas, tamales, atole, and more!
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A nice little place with a menu offering the usual Southwestern fare. The service is very good and accomodating. As someone who always asks for no to very little seasoning, it was necessary for them to exchange pre-seasoned veggies for something else. The owner personally notified me that the new ones had come directly from their garden the previous day-- they were delicious! For a quiet, no hassle pre-opera meal, this was perfect for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank bobbiegailh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Front Office Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you had a good experience at Casa Chimayo. Thank you for mentioning our farm fresh veggies! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 463 of 635 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Took several friends to one of our favorites and found it still at top form after a year away. The green chili stew, stuffed peppers, enchiladas, fresh corn tortillas, and tres leches cake were as delicious as ever. The sopa (bread pudding) was a bit dry, but nevertheless tasty. The outdoor patio in its ramshackle style is still the favorite place for most diners. It's easy to see why this place still ranks near the top of Santa Fe's great list of New Mexican food places. We enthusiastically recommend it to everyone we know. Bravo!

4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Front Office Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you had another good experience at Casa Chimayo. Thank you for being a fan of our "shabby, Chimayo chic" design at the restaurant. We love it too! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a nice lunch at the Casa Chimayo. The burrito was great (be sure to have it Christmas, with both red and green). The Rellenos were excellent as was the Pollo en Mole Rojo. The only disappointment (relatively speaking) were the tamales (a little dry). The only other comment is that the chile servings were smallish. We are more used to a smothering of chile, but I can understand that with the hand-crafted chile they serve, they may be reluctant to pour it on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank LaporteFoggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Front Office Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you had another good experience at Casa Chimayo. You were correct in pointing out that the tamales were dry, and have already addressed it. We hope that you will be pleasantly surprised at our wonderful tamales the next time you come in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The food is not bad - taste is nice and fresh. However, there is no need to get excited about this place - no surprising flavours or combinations (as we were expecting based on all the other reviews), the portions are very small (and thats even if compared with european portions), salad for 12$ left me hungry (the plate was half empty) and when they say ,,tomatoes,, (on a burger), they mean literally 5!!! tiny cubes of tomato. A tiny cup of quacamole for 6$...and dont even hope that this ,,mexican,, restaurant will bring you ANY chips with salsa for free...quite sad, given the fact that we had to wait with 2 hungry kids in an empty restaurant for our meal for 30 minutes just with water.
The waitresses seemed dizzy and unbelievably slow and lost.
This place could be cute ( the decor calls for it) if it was in a small Mexican town, but in
Santa Fe, its in need of upgrading (rain dripping from the ceiling right on our not so very clean table). We were generally very dissapointed, expected much, much more!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tsukuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Front Office Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. We are sorry that you were not thoroughly pleased with your experience at Casa Chimayo. Please let us know which table you were seated at so we can check on that roof leak. We are not aware of any water dripping on tables, but we have had some very forceful rains recently, so it is possible! We hope your next visit to Casa Chimayo will be more pleasant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A group of thirty came to this restaurant on a Wednesday night. I spoke directly with the owner to make the reservations and he ensured the place was adequately staffed to accomodate the rush. The food was amazing, and the atmosphere delightful.

The owner informed us that his chilis come from just two farms that are pure and do not cross-breed between various types of chilis. It really showed in the taste. Dishes that had a kick to them were not too strong to be unenjoyable and the flavor was amazing.

I highly recommend this establishment!

3  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Front Office Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback! We love to hear from customers that enjoy our chile. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Chimayo Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Casa Chimayo Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing