We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum yum!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Chimayo Restaurante

Casa Chimayo Restaurante
Ranked #53 of 556 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yum yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stopped in while passing through Santa Fe. We went early and it was pretty quiet. Guacamole came out in a giant Mexican mortar bowl - great presentation. The green chili dipping sauce was spicy and delicious. Had blue corn veggie stacks and veggie tamale combination plate - very good. Husband had chicken fajitas - also very good. Good service - would return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Morgan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Morgan F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! We are just over a year old and appreciate the feedback from our customers. We strive to continually improve our food and service, and hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    173
    72
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Really good southwestern food. Great waiter gave really good advice on menu items and told about the owner's passion for using local ingredients as much as possible. Not far from Pkaza. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MrB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! We really appreciate hearing the feedback from our customers. It's what keeps us on our toes, striving to provide the best food and service possible. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
167 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“pretty good food, close to downtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

went here with friend for brunch. the cafe is just off Guadalupe street west of downtown. The interior is divided into 2 dining rooms, both have an intimate, old style, northern New Mexican kinda feel. They are decorated in the classic Mexican cafe style with lots of weavings (blankets, serapes) on the wall. Even though the cafe is rooted in the history and culture of the Chimayo valley (according to the menu), all of the hangings on the wall appeared to be mexican weavings rather than the lovely products of the weaving studios of Chimayo itself (?).

On our early afternoon visit the cafe was pretty empty (Feb. is low season). There was one waiter and he was personable and attentive. The menu for brunch is simple but contains a sampling of dishes particular to the area. I had the breakfast tacos (just OK), my wife had a set of sides as her meal (very good report) and our friend had the tortilla soup (also good report).

This is a good alternative to the bustle of downtown, especially in high season. As a venue, it is kinda typical of what you might find around town and in other northern NM locales.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank heyU7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! We really appreciate hearing the feedback from our customers. It's what keeps us on our toes, striving to provide the best food and service possible. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were struggling to find something open a little later because we arrived late on a weekday. Stumbled on this place and enjoyed a yummy dinner with the owner sitting in the dining room with us. He was sharing stories about how they prepare some of their spices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Skip the touristy Mexican restaurants and try this family-owned place on West Water Street. The food is exceptionally fresh, well prepared, and nicely presented. The menu goes beyond traditional combo plates. Vegetarians will appreciate the calabacitas and other non-meat plates. Try the calabacitas with Christmas sauce (red and green chili).

The atmosphere is one of hole-in-wall authenticity. The service is beyond compare: friendly and prompt. We were treated to live guitar music that was subtle enough that we could talk at our table.

Four of us had dinner at Casa Chimayo and the tab with a generous tip was about $56.

I highly recommend this restaurant and will return when we visit Santa Fe agin.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank InKleined2Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! We are just over a year old and appreciate the feedback from our customers. We strive to continually improve our food and service, and hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Chimayo Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Casa Chimayo Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing