We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, authentic food, engaging staff”

Casa Chimayo Restaurante
Ranked #61 of 578 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casa Chimayo’s traditional approach to preparing authentic New Mexican cuisine, or “Comida de Nueva España,” as Don Timoteo, the patriarch of the restaurant, refers to it, comes from his commitment to using Grandma’s recipes and local ingredients. Guy Fieri featured Casa Chimayo in a segment titled “Aces Of Authenticity,” on his popular Food Network show “Diners, Drive-ins & Dives, showcasing their popular blue corn enchiladas! New Mexican cuisine has evolved from a blending of Spanish and Native American ingredients, resulting in a culinary experience like no other. Don Timoteo is proud to serve authentic New Mexican dishes using fresh, local ingredients such as: red and green chile, corn, beans, blue corn, posole, tortillas, tamales, atole, and more!
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had dinner here - recommended by the staff at the Hilton and couldn't have been happier. The food was wonderful - I had enchiladas with Christmas sauce. The guacamole and chips were really good. In addition, I had a glass of New Mexico Cabernet - very nice. Prices were reasonable. I would definitely go back.

I'm rating this a 5 - not because it is the best place I have ever been but for what it tries to be, what you get for your $ and the overall atmosphere - it was successful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank freetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! We are just over a year old and appreciate the feedback from our customers. We strive to continually improve our food and service, and hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 526 of 632 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Ate here last week based on TA reviews. Very friendly server, hostess and owner who greeted us and recommended some items. Flute/guitar player that added nice background music to our dinner. Tiny place with a real southwestern flavor in a casual atmosphere. Our food was universally excellent. We had tacos, fajitas, burritos and tres leches cake. My only complaint is that my vegetarian fajita which was overpriced at $17 - not a very large portion either - but it didn't put a damper on a very enjoyable dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank TAtravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! We are just over a year old and appreciate the feedback from our customers. We strive to continually improve our food and service, and hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, family owned and operated. Lots of GF options, tamales were extra yum. Red chile had a nice amount of heat, green was a bit too spicy for this gringa!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Tcom72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! We are just over a year old and appreciate the feedback from our customers. We strive to continually improve our food and service, and hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The outside of this restaurant didn't look like much but don't let looks deter you from trying it. I had a wonderful chicken tortilla soup and great guacamole with fresh blue corn tortillas. My daughter had enchiladas and said they were delicious. The service was a little slow but that just gave us more time to enjoy the ambience as we sat outside in the courtyard.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank jwbjrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! We are just over a year old and appreciate the feedback from our customers. We strive to continually improve our food and service, and hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Dinner on a Friday night was not crowded and we were served right away. Service was good as well as the food. I like the hole in the wall feel of the place and friendly staff. Food was well prepared standard New Mexico cuisine at reasonable prices. The Salsa was a little weak but acceptable. Convenient location with easy parking makes this a good casual stop for dinner in Santa Fe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant! We are just over a year old and appreciate the feedback from our customers. We strive to continually improve our food and service, and hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Chimayo Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Casa Chimayo Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing