We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy fresh food”

Casa Chimayo Restaurante
Ranked #66 of 583 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casa Chimayo’s traditional approach to preparing authentic New Mexican cuisine, or “Comida de Nueva España,” as Don Timoteo, the patriarch of the restaurant, refers to it, comes from his commitment to using Grandma’s recipes and local ingredients. Guy Fieri featured Casa Chimayo in a segment titled “Aces Of Authenticity,” on his popular Food Network show “Diners, Drive-ins & Dives, showcasing their popular blue corn enchiladas! New Mexican cuisine has evolved from a blending of Spanish and Native American ingredients, resulting in a culinary experience like no other. Don Timoteo is proud to serve authentic New Mexican dishes using fresh, local ingredients such as: red and green chile, corn, beans, blue corn, posole, tortillas, tamales, atole, and more!
Reviewed October 21, 2012

When we arrived the place was empty and I was starting to wonder if we had made the right choice, but then I realized we were an hour ahead of time (had just arrived from the Midwest) and it wasn't quite the "lunch hour" in Santa Fe. It soon began to fill up. The chips and salsa were some of the best I've had...fresh with a nice flavor. I ordered the blue corn enchiladas and wasn't disappointed! Nice chicken that wasn't all "sauced" up like we get in the Midwest. I would highly recommend this place. We ate at several Southwestern restaurants on our trip and this was the best by far!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

You are so kind to take the time to review our restaurant and our food! We enjoy getting feedback from our customers, in order to continue to grow and improve our business. Your comments are much appreciated! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

540 - 544 of 635 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

The food was incredibly fresh. My fajitas came to our table sizzling with multiple condiments. The music was mixed 40s with Louis Armstrong, European lounge music, and classical and cool jazz guitar. The waitress was one of the best we've ever had. The decor is good with tile tables and some (original?) great art work.
Caution: I had the smaller portion of fajitas and it was huge.

5  Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

You are so kind to take the time to review our restaurant and our food! We enjoy getting feedback from our customers, in order to continue to grow and improve our business. Your comments are much appreciated! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were in Santa Fe Plaza walking around and had parked pretty far away. We passed this place on our way to the Plaza and thought it looked interesting. On our way back to the car, the sky opened up and it hailed, sideways. Soaked, we went to run into this restaurant for an early dinner and to get out of the rain. They were not open yet, but they took pity on us and let us in. Seems to be family run as two little girls kept looking at us all soaked and laughing a little. :D Although the cook was not yet in, our waiter served us delicious green chili pork stew, chips and guacamole. He brought us drinks and lit the fire in the corner so we could warm up. (An actual tornado warning was issued for Santa Fe). This all would have been enough for me to love the place, but the food was also very good on top of the hospitality and service. Our table rocked a little (this is an old adobe house and the floor is uneven) and the furnishings are a little shabby, but none of that mattered. Thanks for taking us in out of the rain and treating us to a great meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank JLC&N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

You are so kind to take the time to review our restaurant and our food! We enjoy getting feedback from our customers, in order to continue to grow and improve our business. Your comments are much appreciated! Hope to see you again soon! PS: Stay out of the rain!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

While visiting Santa Fe for many years, we always return here to eat.
We have always been very pleased and dine here at least a couple of times on our visit. This visit wasn't so hot and probably will not return. Over priced. Very limited menu. Our table was uneven and rocked the entire time. Food was fair to average.
Service ok, nothing to write home about, seemed to be spread to thin and catered to a party of 9 that came in after we did. Probably due to 18% gratuity on parties over 5 or 6...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Dottie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

You are so kind to take the time to review our restaurant and our food! We enjoy getting feedback from our customers, in order to continue to grow and improve our business. Your comments are very much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We can't say enough good things about this place. The food is superb, staff very very friendly and helpful and atmosphere charming. We had guacamole (the best we ever had) and enchiladas. Portions are generous, prices amazingly reasonable and service ver professional. Could not ask for anything better!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaUnicaGitana, Manager at Casa Chimayo Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

You are so kind to take the time to review our restaurant and our food! We enjoy getting feedback from our customers, in order to continue to grow and improve our business. Your comments are very much appreciated! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Chimayo Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to Casa Chimayo Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing