We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Buffet? More tarnish than gold.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cities of Gold Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Golden Buffet? More tarnish than gold.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent the weekend in Los Alamos, NM and decided to go to Sunday breakfast at the Cities of Gold "Golden Buffet" at the Casino in Pojoaque, NM. The casino was surprisingly busy at 9:00 AM as I made my way through the smoky room to the back of the casino where the Golden Buffet was located.

I was greeted and immediately seated in a booth by the hostess. I made my way to a lack luster buffet featuring mushy pan fried potatoes, watery scrambled eggs, bacon floating in about a 1/2 of grease in a container next to sausage while ample was gray in color and ultimately rubbery in texture.

There was an omelet station where the line was 9 deep for one attendant feverishly making the egg concoctions to order. After a 10 minute wait, I opted for the watery omelets. Awful!

The red and green chile was hot and plentiful - tasted homemade. Truly the highlight of the truly awful buffet.

Come on Cities of Gold you have to work on this -- raise your prices and improve this white hot mess you call a buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tariance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    23
    11
    16
See reviews for
22
28
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

My room was exceptionally large, quiet, and well furnished. Room lighting well above average. Bed very comfortable. The facility is clean, nice amenities, nice decor inside an out. Value priced. The bar/restaurant are average. Staff friendly. General Manager was there and checked me in. How often does that happen? This is a well maintained property. Really a terrific value.

Hotel is across parking lot from casino. This hotel is midway between Santa Fe and Espanola and Los Alamos, so not really near any town, just casinos. But it was located for me as my visit in Santa Fe was over and the next morning I headed north to Colorado, so it got me on my way easily the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaryRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations in all respects. It was a very pleasant stay,and we would not hesitate to recommend this facility to any one. We had booked queen size beds, and found
they are really standard full size. The management solved this problem to our satisfaction in a couple of minutes. An excellent value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank enrique s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

When checking in the front desk clerk was miffed because we had two beds. She asked me why? I said that's all there was when booking. Then we checked in the room and were told we would have queen size beds... we got full.
The rooms were clean and but have not been remodelled for awhile.
The buffet looked horrible.
We went to the little restaraunt there in the casino. We stood there and finally a girl came up and asked what we wanted. There were only two tables in the place. We were seated. Then waited about 8 minutes and still noone came. so we left. Went to room for room service. This was at 8:24 Pm. They close at 9pm. They said that the food would be 20 minutes. After 1.5 hours it showed up. Half burnt mexican plate . The steak sandwich was grisly and the cheese was processed and had been microwaved. They charged $36.00 for it. We packed our things and left the food outside the door.
When I went to check out and tell of our unhapiness; another desk night manager said that she would refund 1 night of our two night stay. I said no i want both nights. Plus not to be charged for the food. She said i needed to call 3 different managers to get it resolved. We left and went to the Hilton. WAAAY Better and POLITE staff there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank calvin34567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Stockbridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Hello, wife and i went to cities of gold casino on may 7-10th. Hotel was quite clean could have used some carpet cleaning but overall very nice. Could not believe all the casino's in the area and also the 1cent machines!! Rented a Mustang Conv with thrifty in ABQ and had a ball. Went to Taos NM, The crater near Los Alamo's and some other mountain driving. Overall we like the area. Cities of Gold hotel has a 2.99 breakfast that is hard to beat!!

Room Tip: book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chuckpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onawa, Ia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

It doesn't have an eating establishment right at the hotel. You have to walk across to the casino for something to eat. We had arrived too late for the buffet so had to eat at the Deli. The food there was very good. The casino it's self wasn't very clean and it was terribly smoky in it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marge22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poteau
Level Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Stayed four nights at the Cities of Gold. This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel but nice and clean with casino and good little restaurant. You can walk across the parking lot to their casino or take the hourly shuttle,, it also goes to the bigger and much more plush Buffalo Thunder Resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Fe
7.9 mi away
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
16.4 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Fe
Quality Inn Santa Fe
#47 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Santa Fe Suites
The Santa Fe Suites
#46 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
17.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cities of Gold Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cities of Gold Casino Hotel

Property: Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Address: 10-A Cities of Gold Road, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cities of Gold Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel is located 15 scenic miles north of Santa Fe, New Mexico on Hwy. 84/285. 124 luxurious Guest Rooms. 1300 square feet of Conference Facilities. Breakfast and Dinner available in the Gold Dust Restaurant. Just steps away from the Cities of Gold Casino with Las Vegas style gaming action - seven days a week. Blackjack, Craps, Roulette, Slots, Bingo, Three Card Poker and the ONLY Poker Room in Northern New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Cities of Gold Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cities Of Gold Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing