We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, dining hall atmosphere”
Review of Flying Star Cafe - CLOSED

Flying Star Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food, dining hall atmosphere”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went for breakfast. There is a good selection of breakfasts - the focus is on healthy options. We were very please with the choices we made - one was a traditional poached eggs breakfast, the other was more Mexican. Both were very flavorful - the servings are generous - could share some of these dishes. The setting is not too inviting - sort of like a dining hall. Hard surfaces in a large open space. The food is worth going back for.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    46
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“state wide treats!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Menu are same in Santa Fe and Albuquerque. They have a pastry chef from Paris. Now that is a twist! Food is consistently good and some locations have an outside patio. N o alcohol available.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Good food, great baked goods”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

As several have reviewed here, the Flying Star in Santa Fe is one of the popular eateries of the restaurant chain in the Albuquerque area, and this restaurant is located in downtown Santa Fe, next door to REI and walking distance to the Santa Fe Railyard, farmers' market, and Sanbusco shopping area.

Food is usually really good, though a bit pricey overall. Baked goods are usually amazing here; we like to stop by the Flying Star sometimes just for coffee and dessert after a stroll downtown.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DiveMoreWorkLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great menu for everybody”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I really liked this restaurant. The menu had something to please the varied tastes of my entire family. Breakfast all day was a huge plus for my picky, loves to eat bread daughter.

We walked in on a very uncrowded evening for dinner, placed our order at the counter and grabbed a nice large table. Our meals arrived quickly and at the proper temperature. Everybody enjoyed their meals. I have to give a particular shout out to the chicken stew with 2 huge biscuits. It was beyond good!!

We also visited another night for dessert and got a few items to go along with a chocolate shake. Again, it was all yummy. And reasonable.

Great choice if you have a group with different tastes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NotUrTypicalChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very modern and clean, delicious food, a bit pricey but hey, it's Santa Fe. Try the green chile sauce, delish!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank bmrchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Star Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing