We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tour”

Custom Tours By Clarice
Ranked #26 of 43 Tours in Santa Fe
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This tour was a great way to get an idea where the sites were but our guide, Gary was what made this tour exceptional. He was very knowledgeable, telling us about the history of Santa Fe and local lore. Although the tour does not usually go up to Museum Hill we expressed an interest so he deviated from the normal route to take us up there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MOMBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    2
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable & Informative”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lively chap from London, England. The tour took in many of the key areas and historical sites around downtown Santa Fe. I would not hesitate to recommend the tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyesRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Clarice knows Santa Fe”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Four of us took the tram tour by Clarice and learned a lot about this charming, historical gem of a city through the constant narration by our historically gifted guide. The price is quite reasonable - only $15 for over 1.5 hours, and the pick-up point is very convenient, leaving from the clock just across the street from the Palace of the Governors (Lincoln and West Palace). There are usually several tours each day and you can get the latest information and make a reservation by calling 505-438-7116 or 505-690-8741.
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, well-prepared, interesting and entertaining. The tour, being on wheels, includes much more than the other walking tours that mainly focus on the Plaza area and little else, although there are some interesting walks down some back alleys on the walking tours not accessible by the tram. If you really want to get some good pictures, you may be better off on the walking tours, because almost every time I was about to shoot a picture, the tram started to take off. On the other hand, you get to stay on the tram throughout the tour, so if you're tired, this may be just the place for you. And you do get a chance to stretch halfway through, when you can head for the restrooms on the famous Canyon Drive, an artist lover's paradise of a street (if you've got some big bucks).
I heard most everything on this tour I already learned on the many walking tours I've previously taken (I was with a friend this time who cannot walk well), plus I saw much more on this tram because we were able to venture way past the Plaza sights. All four of us enjoyed the tour and we all felt that we got our money's worth. Gratuities are cheerfully accepted before or after the tour. We had to have exact change so I just threw in an extra $10 for a tip (I only had $20's in my wallet) for the four of us and the driver was very appreciative. The tram was pretty full when I took the tour, which was at Noon Sunday in October, 2012.
There are numerous things to see on the tour, including the Cathedral Basicala of St. Francis of Assissi, the Loretto Chapel, the State Capital and the legislative building (the "Roundhouse"), . If you actually want to enter the Chapel and see the "miraculous" spiral staircase (with "no visible means of support"), or perhaps see the inside of the interesting "Roundhouse", you may want to take one of the walking tours instead, or just head back to these "must see" attractions after the tour, if you have the stamina for the extra walking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sfeldman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“75 minutes of great tour and commentary”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were lucky enough to have 'Clarice' herself give us the tour, by tram, and it was really good. She is articulate, knowledgable, and very hospitable. Not too long a tour, and gave us a great feeling for Santa Fe, in terms of what to see, and how close sites were. Highly recommend this tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank IH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice tour”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

took the city tour very well done seen alot of places we would have missed if we tried it alone pointed out alot of interesting facts

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank aks472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom Tours By Clarice also viewed

 

Been to Custom Tours By Clarice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing