We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You always get a good meal”
Review of Cafe Castro

Cafe Castro
Ranked #95 of 558 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“You always get a good meal”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My housemate loves the stuffed sopapillas, and I enjoy the chili rellenos, but you really can't go wrong with anything. The portions are huge, dine in or carry out are always great. Try a carry-out guacamole appetizer for a sporting event or movie night. Both the red and green chili are flavorful and have a nice bite of heat. Prices are much better here than other comparable places in town, although, sadly there is not a margarita menu here. ( I do think there is beer and wine service, but I am not certain of that.)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    65
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
230 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A great find for authentic Mexican food”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We were starving after being on the road all day and an early dinner at Cafe Castro was just what we needed. Excellent chili rellenos and enchiladas. Delicious sauces - both green and red.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Mexican Food”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is the best New Mexican food in Santa Fe. We've lived here for almost 20 years and I think we've tried every New Mexico food restaurant and this is hands down our favorite.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in Santa Fe”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This is easily THE BEST Mexican food I've ever had. This is a required stop every time I'm anywhere near Santa Fe, say in Las Cruces or Albuquerque.

This place is worth the 8 hour drive from Phoenix and is quite frankly the reason I took my family on vacation here.

I would go on about the food, but anything I could say wouldn't do it justice.

I would seriously consider moving to Santa Fe just because of this place. I wish they'd open a spot in Phoenix... hint hint. ;)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank urbancynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
457 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Our New Local Favorite”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Don't let the Cerrillos Commercial Corridor turn you away if you are new to the area. You can find many wonderful businesses along this stretch of road and Cafe Castro is definitely one of them. We wanted to try a place we hadn't been to before and we are really quite glad that we chose to go to Cafe Castro. It had been recommended to us before in the past as a good restaurant to go to for New Mexican food and now we regret not having made the trip sooner. Cafe Castro is a homey, comfortable place with friendly service, delicious food and bargain prices. It is now one of our favorite places to eat for breakfast in Santa Fe. We can heartily recommend the huevos rancheros and the vegetable omelet. Coffee is good and hot. We will not doubt go there again - see you there!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DB-Raw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Castro also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing