We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good authentic food.”
Review of Cafe Castro

Cafe Castro
Ranked #89 of 559 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good authentic food.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great little local place that has great food at very reasonable prices. The staff was very attentive and they worked well together as a team. I had their Steak Fajita, which was cooked to perfection; very tender and flavorful. I asked for both the red and the green sauce, and I am glad that I did; they were both great sauces, the green had large chunks of Chile pepper with good heat and the red was a hearty sauce with a flavor all its own. They offer a large selection of domestic and imported beers and a wine margarita, but no liquor is available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank LoveToRV_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    65
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“New Mexican food made by residents”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

AWESOME food and service. Was recommended by the manager of our hotel when asked about locally owned restaurants nearby.

The guacamole is to die for!! Don't miss it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank PatM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We ate at Café Castro on our last night in Santa Fe, if it had been the first night we would have probably gone again. There was great food, generous portions, and good service. This is true authentic Mexican food with great chilies and beer!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank 978lindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, good people, nice place”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I went to the Castro because it was conveniently located and inexpensive. We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the wonderful, friendly service. We are Anglos from Philadelphia and not used to Mexican food, but our fajitas were terrific. The portions were generous and tasted wonderful. Our waiter was helpful in answering our questions about the menu, and very attentive to us. The restaurant is nicely decorated and their beer selection looked great (I regretted that I was driving and couldn't drink up!) As we dined, the place filled up and seemed to be very popular with local people. Good food, generous portions, good service, nice people, good prices-- what's not to like!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Robert2835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Agave wine margaritas!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Lunch was divine. The margaritas are made with agave wine instead of tequila. Lovely flavor. Could have drunk a pitcher of them. Food is completely non pretentious, homemade chilis both red and green. Prices are beyond reasonable. A great local place to eat!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Castro also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing