We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptous!”
Review of Cafe Castro

Cafe Castro
Ranked #91 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Scrumptous!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This food is real Mexican food. It is delicious. Ask servers to bring you red and green sauce on the side so you can flavor with the heat to your liking. The service is fantastic. Excellent quality and excellent service and excellent prices. I can't wait for my next trip to eat there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    67
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Real New Mexico Food”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

When we walked in you could really savor the aroma in the air. Smell is a great indicator of the tastes to come. First we had the chili con queso and it was great. Next time we need four people to share this delight. The problem was we ate so much and had no idea of the delights to come. My wife had the enchiladas and I had the stuffed sopapillas, both with green chilies. They were a treat! This place is very local and a bargain for Santa Fe. It is on our list for a return visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank bigstitchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okla
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Green chile enchiladas and pasole”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place was recommended by a relative. Without the recommendation I am not sure we would have tried it because the outside is not appealing. Good food. Good staff. We will be back next time we visit Santa Fe.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank ilovevegasbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't let the curb appeal fool you.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We almost turned away because it looks like an auto parts store in front but were so glad we didn't. Went for the sopaipillas and weren't disappointed. Stuffed with beef and smothered in green chili (hot-I got a side of sour cream) they were delicious. Absolutely no room for the plain ones with honey - ate them anyway. Just three miles from the plaza and super reasonable prices. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Retiredroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“GREAT Eats at GREAT Prices”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant for a small meal or a BIG meal. You will not leave hungry!
Service is excellent, food quality is excellent, atmosphere is excellent. EVERYTHING is excellent! Good Mexican cuisine prepared with the best ingredients give each dish strong flavors that will make your meal most enjoyable. This is a restaurant you will want to come back to and to recommend. A meal for two with drinks is possible for less than $25.-.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing