We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat, meat, & meat”
Review of Whole Hog Cafe

Whole Hog Cafe
Ranked #159 of 572 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Neighborhood: Historic District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Historic District
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Meat, meat, & meat”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband & I both love BBQ, and usually try to find at least one local stop on each of our trips out of town. We shared one of the ultimate platters, and my husband truly was in hog heaven. The meats were smoked and served with a range of six different BBQ sauces on each table. It was fun to try out the different ones. They had a six pack of sauces available for purchase which would make a fun gift, but decided it was to difficult to get back home. The sampling of the sides was just right, and rounded out the meat choices. The place had a fast food atmosphere, which made it feel a bit casual for dinner, but the food made up it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank booked2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“entire pig - including fat and gristle...”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Boring place with service and atmosphere and quality poor and prices high. Not good value
and ambiance lacking.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank samonella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Santa Fe”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Excellent BBQ. Would be an improvement if they offered local micro brews on tap. Also the service could be better but this is about as good as it gets in Santa Fe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank sivilsld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“DRY, Dry, Dry meat”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

You will think that there is no way to mess up pull pork...well this people really make an effort, plus management is so poor as the portions are. I went to the counter to complain about the bitter, cold, poor portion, non tasty pork, and he was like so what?? Seriously!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Maritzakath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The food was very good and the staff were very friendly. Prices were reasonable and the portions were just right for me. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whole Hog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Whole Hog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing