We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth, really smooth, and awesome”

Aztec Street Cafe and Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Smooth, really smooth, and awesome”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stumbled on this little cafe by accident and it has become my weekly destination digs during my 1 or 2x/week trip up from Albuquerque. .

These guys at the 317 Aztec (as it is now known) have the best salad for taste and price anywhere ($8.50 for an Everything Salad) which must include something like butter lettuce or some home grown greens because it is smooth and lush and the sunflower sprouts and array of other veggies make it a full meal. But still, I have to add a raw vegan cheesecake piece ($2.25, best price for raw and gluten free goodies anywhere!) or a raw, dairy free, gluten free walnut cacao bar ("eat half and take the rest with you," the owner advised but I ignored her and ate it all). It was great. Really great. Really really great!

And in addition to the coffee being smooth, too -- yes, best coffee award! -- the other customers are smooth! Fun, friendly, excited about the raw and gluten free desserts; talkative, warm...

I like the uplifting, local art on the walls, and best of all, the staff remember me. How lovely to walk in and get a sincere smile and "Great to see you!" greeting. I love this place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank gaia-ji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kind of hippy, but don't let that stop you”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Super friendly, welcoming place. Lots of locals hanging out. Get a coffee or a fresh juice and relax. The breakfast we had was good too. If you are tired of the plaza and fine dining, go check it out. It's a short stroll from plaza.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank rch_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This does not exist any more. It changed hands and is now "317 Aztec Cafe". Great coffee, but all snacks are gluten free. If that is what you need, good place. If you like the tastes gluten adds, this may not be for you. The building is attractive and nicely decorated.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Favorite Find in Sante Fe!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Seven of my girlfriends and I met in Sante Fe from different areas of the US. We found plenty of green chili and fabulous southwestern food. We stumbled upon a great find in the Aztec Cafe one afternoon. The girls working there had just taken over ownership and were thrilled with our patronage. We tried different juices, the sloppy lentils (like Joes) and were smitten. We will be back!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank audrasena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great coffe, atmosphere, and muffins”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I love this place, whenever I'm in Santa Fe I enjoying hanging out taking my time to enjoy the treats and the atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank JASM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aztec Street Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing