We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lavender Sunset Casitas
Nearby Hotels
Inn of the Governors(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel St. Francis(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Eldorado Hotel & Spa(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$216
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$271
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$191
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
30
2
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
2
1
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

On the contrary to all the great reviews I've read, my stay at Lavender Sunset Casitas was rather disappointing.

First of all, the good ... I would say that the location is central if you have a car. It's about 5 min drive to the Old Town and all the major sites in Santa Fe, but it's not a convenient walking distance, especially at night or on a cold winter day. The casita was well equipped with everything we needed, except a dish washer.

However, staying at LSC was like staying at a friend's old place while they were out of town. I guess, depending on how you look at it, that can be a good thing, but for me, the casita seemed a little too worn out and definitely had a lived-in look and feel. The big downside was that although our unit wasn't large, it felt drafty and cold all day, and it took almost an entire day to warm up the place. Even then, we had to turn on the portable heater in the bedroom to keep warm.

Aside from feeling cramped from the lack of space in general, there was very little space in the rooms, esp. in the bathroom to place or store our things, and although I thought the unit we'd reserved was for a family, the space and the furnishings barely accommodated 2 people.

Overall, it was an adequate place for few days, but not somewhere we would stay again when we return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gl0betrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We travel to Santa Fe frequently and this is the best place for the value far and away. Large rooms, the kitchenettes are set up with everything you could possibly need. Very clean. Linda couldn't have been friendlier. Loved our little private patio in back of our unit. Bed very comfortable. Convenient s Capitol location. I have nothing but good memories of Lavender Sunsets and plan on returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourmalinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We wanted to have more than a hotel room for a week long stay in Santa Fe while we attended a meeting at the La Fonda on the Plaza. Our unit the Corazon was well equipped with kitchen that Linda provided for nicely with utensils, plates, etc and coffeemaker which we used daily. We found the unit comfortable at night and a nice retreat after a long day. The 20 minute walk to the Plaza is invigorating and enjoyable. We drove to Whole Foods and nearby restaurants when we weren't walking. Linda provided us with a nice list of suggestions for eateries and activities, all spot on.

Room Tip: Ask about differences of each unit. The web site shows pictures of each with good descriptions. Essentially you are part of a small compound which lends a safe and cozy feeling.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okoshi2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We couldn't have been happier with our weeklong stay. Our one bedroom casita, Desero, was so comfortable and cozy. The attention to all the details that make a property exceptional were there- a wonderful king-size bed to sleep in, everything one could need in the kitchen to prepare a nice meal, fluffy towels and robes, nice furniture to relax on in the living room and so much more. The location is convenient to all the main dining and shopping areas in downtown Santa Fe, but is in a quiet, historic neighborhood. It's charming and authentic. It has a very special atmosphere that can't be duplicated in a hotel. Also, the value was terrific for a rather expensive city. Linda, the owner, was great and we enjoyed meeting her and her dog, Mickey. We have rented many private properties through the years, and this casita was one of our all-time favorites. We will definitely return and have already recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylawcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I did quite a bit of research before I settled on Lavender Sunset and I'm glad to report that our casita was all we wanted in Santa Fe. Its location is just about perfect, a few blocks from the Capitol, the same distance from Guadalupe St and the Railyard, and less than a mile of easy walking to the plaza. There is off-street parking. We stayed in Amor and found it clean and comfortable. There is a full, well-stocked kitchen. The king-size bed was comfortable and the bedding was of high quality. We really liked our small, private patio--perfect for a before dinner drink. There isn't much closet space and the room was a little dark, but the bath is adequate. Really, I had no major quibbles with this property and the friendly owner lives on site if you have any issues.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gentlemanhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews