We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Big Disappointment - Not meeting standards of Hotwire's 4-star rating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Luxx Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luxx Hotel
Ranked #20 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment - Not meeting standards of Hotwire's 4-star rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

We were expecting a comfortable near luxury hotel and instead were very dissappointed to be staying in a hotel that did not offer the services or standards ordinarily received in a 3-star hotel. The hotel lobby is staffed only from 10am- 8pm. Part of the time the lobby was staffed by the maintenance man unable to answer questions. The room had left over coffee from last guest, no blanket (they used the bedspread as a blanket), no landline telephone. It seemed more like a hostile than a hotel. In additon there a $25 additional per night resort charge that covered absolutely nothing.

The location was excellent. Also, they just hired a manager who seems genuinely motivated to resolve the issues.

Just beware when Hotwire advertises a 4-star hotel without name in Santa Fe, this is what you are going to get.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank RugglesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    69
    26
    22
    29
See reviews for
50
119
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Able to make last minute reservations and greeted by an accommodating staff an hour later. The Luxx Plaza Hotel's central location one block off the Plaza is a perfect location for walking to all downtown attractions. The secured, private parking during a busy travel period is a major plus factor! Complimentary perk with neighbor restaurants La Boca (appetizer) and Il Piatto (dessert) with Echo coffee and gelatto next door. Rooms must be sound-proofed, heard no downtown traffic noise. Appreciated the later 11am check out.

Room Tip: for a single traveler, the room size and bath I had were sufficient. Would request one of the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeheeInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My favorite thing about this place was that it had a full kitchen that was centrally located in the hotel and stocked full of dishes and utensils. Each room had a mini fridge and a microwave/pizza oven which made it very convenient. After reading multiple reviews I knew about the addition of a resort and parking fee although I'm not sure why they just don't include them in the price. They did have an interesting TV setup with flat screens and the ability to surf the net, listen to your own pandora account and even netflix not to mention a ton of other options. There were a few oddities about the place. We booked through either hotwire or expedia and somehow they did not get there were two kids as well as two adults even though we entered it into the reservation. The first night we had a two bedroom place because they had an opening but the second night we had to move to a one bedroom and put the kids on the floor on cots. Between that and our luggage there was hardly any room to move. We opted for a third night and then had another two bedroom room. We often had problems with not enough bath linens and a lot of the time no one is in the office so we could not get any extras. One time we had one wash cloth in the room and went to ask for more and they only had one more. The owner and staff are very nice and helpful when the office is staffed. I would return just because I loved the kitchen option and hate eating out every meal. It is in a great location and an easy walk to all the great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank stromamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The entire staff was incredibly helpful and worked hard to meet even the smallest request. They all smiled! Customer service is clearly a primary goal. Decor is tasteful. Rooms very clean, comfortable beds and secure. I stayed four nights and offer a positive shout out to any seniors out there... this is a great place to stay. They work hard to take care of you. I will be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Great Hotel, wonderful stay. The Hotel was very clean and in good condition. The staff was very friendly and happy to help out. It was nice to see that Gordon the owner was available to answer customer questions and to over see that the staff was working hard. The location is very nice and in the heart of downtown Santa Fe. It is close to restaurants, shopping and galleries great for tourists. The building was very safe, many locked doors at night between You and the streets. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel and am a repeat customer Myself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The bad stuff: Not at all a luxury hotel as described, it felt much more like a glorified hostel. You follow paper signs on propped open doors to get back to the hotel, and we met the guy who checked us in randomly in the hallway, all causing a bit of confusion. There was a common kitchen area with spices and cooking equipment if you wanted to go that route, but who does at $100+ per night? We booked through hotwire for a "discounted" rate of around 70, but ended up being charged 32 in fees in addition to that after we checked out in ridiculous misc fees. Parking was difficult in the very small lot behind the hotel. Bathrooms were not updated. The hot tub is awkwardly placed by a walkway between the parking lot and hotel back entrance, making its use unappealing. On our particular night there, we had a yippy dog next door (and thin walls), and the police were questioning the neighbor to the other side of us when we were leaving.

The good stuff: Fantastic location to walk to anything in historic downtown. If you're artsy and offbeat and have lots of money to blow, this hotel is unique and may appeal to you. Google tv and internet access on a very large screen TV with a wireless keyboard was enjoyable. Attention to eco-friendliness in that there are no little travel size bottles of things or plastic cups-- instead there's access to glassware in the common kitchen and dispensers with shampoo, soap, etc. Modern art and different styles in each room.

But, overall impression was just feeling ripped off-- not what we were expecting for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed one night at the Luxx and loved every minute of it. The rooms are spacious and wonderfully decorated. Santa Fe Plaza was one block away, very much to our surprise. We could not believe that they also had a little kitchen for visitors to use if one wanted to spend a night in rather than going out. Unfortunately, we had only time for one night, wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had room #1 which was actually 2 rooms, so we had our pick as to which room to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#22 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#10 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,737 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#23 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxx Hotel

Property: Luxx Hotel
Address: 105 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luxx Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A winner of Hotel Showdown, the LUXX Boutique Hotel is Located just steps from the historic Santa Fe Plaza and Convention Center. Housed within a historic building, the hotel features uniquely decorated rooms with original artwork, custom faux finishes and tile work, custom painted tables, work desk, organic bath products, robes, free wifi, onsite coffee house, and Sushi restaurant. Award winning restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Luxx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxx Plaza Hotel + Casita Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing