We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different style of hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxx Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luxx Hotel
Ranked #19 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Different style of hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

There mix reviews on this location but just wanted to get away for a night. Luxx hotel came up in Priceline so I book it. I agree that there were charges I wasn't prepared for while booking it threw priceline.com but they were mention in a way.
Priceline quoted me $70 bucks a night. First plus, I was surprise since this location was in the heart of downtown Santa Fe. Walking distance to everything I wanted to check out. I shortly got an email after booking that my room was getting a free upgrade from a Queen suite to a King since all Queens were booked. Plus number two, Since king suites were going for twice the amount I was book at. Then the bill showed up $69.99 for the room + $10 booking fee + $19 resort fee + taxes totaling to $113. for one night. Talk to the owner Gordon which was a nice guy since he was informative of the area gave us some referral's on some places to check out. Also some free stuff to local restaurants, Showed us around and didn't hover us. I was excited on the little things the place had to offer like Google TV HD cable, Bluray, Free WiFi at a very high speed. I liked that this place had a different self service vibe to it. Yeah the additional amounts weren't planned but for just a get away it was a nice experience. They have to change up the wording thou since it comes up as if each suite comes with it's own Jacuzzi. There's only one on the property that's in the back. Parking took moment to notice but their right just enough room for guess of the hotel only. *This place wouldn't be enjoyed by older couples in the 40+ area*

Room Tip: King suite #8 in the corner of the building towards the back. Make as much noise as you'll like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripping718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    69
    26
    22
    29
See reviews for
50
119
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here for several days over the Christmas Holidays and had an absolutely fabulous time. The rooms are uniquely designed, with clean and modern bathrooms and a great communal kitchen that makes it super easy to make a quick meal or drink whilst chatting with other guests and hotel employees. The internet/TV is equipped with just about everything and anything you could possibly need.One of the best parts? The friendly fellow guests and staff. The staff particularly provide great insights and recommendations to places to venture in the city - both day and night. I love Luxx and will definitely recommend to any visitor/traveler interested in a unique experience - different to your typical Mc-4/5 star-hotel.

Room Tip: The staff will help recommend a room based on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silentjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed one night for an event before the Christmas holiday and it was a disaster. When we first arrived, the first room we were given actually belonged to someone else! -We punched in the security code and found that the room was occupied! We had to find someone to give us another room, and then discovered we weren't going to get what we paid for. We were promised a two-room suite that could accommodate 4 adults. -We paid extra to have two king or queen beds but when we finally received an (unoccupied) room we found a twin with a trundle pullout instead. When we complained, the person who we made the reservation with was not around and the person on duty said they were sold out of rooms and basically told us we were S.O.L. We had no choice but to keep the room. We went to our event and returned late at about 2:30AM. We were set to go to bed and discovered that the trundle bed had no linen! We looked around the closets and the entire room and found nothing. Since this is not a traditional hotel, there is no front desk to call and no one was around to ask for linen. I slept on the bare trundle mattress and covered myself with my coat. When I went to complain in the morning, the owner didn't give a care and said that I could've called his cell phone (as if I knew this fact by osmosis some how) and he would've brought some linen. No apology was given, and he refused to credit our account for the lesser room or for the inconvenience of having to sleep on a bare mattress. He actually told me, "I don't know what you want me to do about it now". He was a complete [--] and I can't believe he runs a business. I've received better customer service at a two-star roadway motel. Also, the room was dirty, the towels smelled like mildew and like another reviewer said, a microwave and a mini-fridge do not constitute a kitchenette. We stay in Santa Fe several times a year and will be certain to NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ABQ77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

over the Christmas holidays, i had visitors, and decided to treat them to 6 nights at the luxx hotel. they had one suite and one very large king room. everyone was thrilled, the service was excellent and the owner, Gordon, put time and attention into the entertainment and guidance for my guests....it was a very lighthearted, fun, week and much credit goes to the luxx for contributing tremendously to that.

Room Tip: ask to see photos of rooms. all quite different but all unique and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Luxx for two nights in December. I was on business while she enjoyed Santa Fe. Our room was clean, spacious and well equipped. The staff was very courteous and helpful.

If you are expecting a standard corporate hotel room, you may be better off at the Hilton on Sandoval. The Luxx is an eclectic boutique hotel with a limited number of rooms and services. It is a good value and very close to the Plaza, as well as many very fine restaurants and shops.

Santa Fe is the City Different, and the Luxx fits right in with that theme. I plan to return there on my next trip to New Mexico.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Great Value here for the money. This hotel is a great choice when in Santa Fe. The location is awesome; it’s walking distance to down town. The bedrooms were decorated uniquely. The internet TV was wonderful. The bedrooms were comfortable. The staff is very friendly. The kitchen is accessible to make breakfast for the young one with us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenwen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We booked a room at the Luxx Plaza Hotel and Suites in Santa Fe, as a place to stay in town while searching for permanent residences. We had a tiny bit of difficulty actually finding the hotel, but after driving a few circles around the Plaza, we found the sign and the parking lot behind the building. We were EXTREMELY impressed by the quality, style, and service. The Luxx truly is a hidden gem in Santa Fe; very chic, laid back, and cozy, while literally just a few steps out the door to the Plaza!! AND there is a hip little coffee shop just outside the lobby area. It was a perfect place to rest our heads in the Land of Enchantment!! The sheets on the bed even glowed, due to the static electricity, but I still think it was magical!!
Thank you so very much for a pleasantly wonderful stay, we hope to stay there again soon!!

Room Tip: Room 15 had a mini kitchenette and Google TV, with internet and cable!! Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,817 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#22 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxx Hotel

Property: Luxx Hotel
Address: 105 E Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luxx Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A winner of Hotel Showdown, the LUXX Boutique Hotel is Located just steps from the historic Santa Fe Plaza and Convention Center. Housed within a historic building, the hotel features uniquely decorated rooms with original artwork, custom faux finishes and tile work, custom painted tables, work desk, organic bath products, robes, free wifi, onsite coffee house, and Sushi restaurant. Award winning restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Luxx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxx Plaza Hotel + Casita Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing