We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!!”
Review of Luxx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luxx Hotel
Ranked #18 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!!”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We booked a room at the Luxx Plaza Hotel and Suites in Santa Fe, as a place to stay in town while searching for permanent residences. We had a tiny bit of difficulty actually finding the hotel, but after driving a few circles around the Plaza, we found the sign and the parking lot behind the building. We were EXTREMELY impressed by the quality, style, and service. The Luxx truly is a hidden gem in Santa Fe; very chic, laid back, and cozy, while literally just a few steps out the door to the Plaza!! AND there is a hip little coffee shop just outside the lobby area. It was a perfect place to rest our heads in the Land of Enchantment!! The sheets on the bed even glowed, due to the static electricity, but I still think it was magical!!
Thank you so very much for a pleasantly wonderful stay, we hope to stay there again soon!!

Room Tip: Room 15 had a mini kitchenette and Google TV, with internet and cable!! Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    89
    27
    22
    29
See reviews for
58
136
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bahamas
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Luxx is modern and fashionable, and was a great change of pace for my Santa Fe experience.

Its location is at the heart of Santa Fe downtown near all the best restaurants, galleries, and museums which made it conveint to walk to everything.

The Jacuzzi was nice also :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahamasbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

This property is close to the square. That is the good thing

Trying to make a reservation is a joke. Not sure why they do not hire someone to actually be professional. It took several calls to make rev and we never spoke to the same person.

Rooms are small and dirty. If you are at the back of the building, the people in the hot tub or on the back patio are very noisy and the walls are thin. Also the traffic of people going to and from that area parade past your room. At 3-4 in the morning enough is enough. The drunken parties each night went on and on. Even when we mentioned the time, we were just laughed at.

Rate quoted was not rate they charged. Only when I received cc statement later did I notice amount they charged was not what was on receipt. Was a major hassle to solve.

I will not stay here again. Other options in town on square much better at same or lower cost.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dynaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

It's important to understand what this hotel is as their website and description over the phone isn't quite what you'll get. A few definitions:

Kitchenette means microwave and mini-fridge. This was offset by the fact that the main kitchen is fully appointed - we grabbed some utensils and plates to bring to the room.

Hot tub means small hot tub at the back of the building. No room comes with a hot tub.

Room photos on show the bed area of the room, the rest are common areas in the hotel.

Parking space means the parking lot at the back of the building - a bit of a free for all. No parking pass required, we assumed the other cars back there were guests. A good part of the lot was blocked off when we were there, after returning from dinner we (and obviously subsequent guests) had to be creative with parking spaces.

Our room was groovy and had an exterior entrance - good for the dog. The ceiling fan looked to be in danger of falling out of the ceiling. Room was reasonably clean but under bed and top of cabinets dirty - not standards you would see in a three star or higher hotel. Great location - close to the plaza and close to a park for walking. Staff is helpful but vibe is VERY much self service.

Last but not least is value - room rate was quite good but once all the fees are added in (the resort fee is a joke!) you will pay as much as some very nice places near the plaza with upscale hotel service. Conclusion: wouldn't even be writing this review if price had been significantly less than competition around town and if what was represented was what we got. With the option to pay the same and get true resort style amenities hard to advocate for a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RollinCOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and I booked one night online through Orbitz and ended up staying four nights. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms and the common area/lobby are hip and funky with lots of local art. Our room was spacious and quiet and the hotel is convenient to everything near the plaza. Gordan, the owner, went out of his way to get the last room (ours) hooked up with Google TV and we had access to free netflix and other apps. This place has a full and well stocked kitchen for guest use, filtered water and a fridge and microwave in each room. We slept great and enjoyed our stay! We recommend this place to other independent travelers who are not attracted to large hotel chains.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I DO NOT recommend this hotel. I read very mixed reviews about it prior to booking, but felt that the ideal location and uniqueness outweighed the potential cons. I was wrong.
The room that I stayed in had dirty sheets. I am not very squeamish, but it is not acceptable to have sheets covered in other human hair on a bed when you check in. And there were other guests there at the same time (and in previous reviews) who also had dirty sheets. My room was then not cleaned for the duration of my 4 night stay.
To make matters worse, the hotel has extensive "taxes" and "resort fees" which are not included in online quotations. I ended up paying $150 more than I expected to pay. This included having to pay for a parking space even though I did not have a car.
While the rooms are well-furnished and the place is in a great location, IT IS NOT WORTH IT. You will end up paying much more than you expect and the service is horrible!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Unhappy439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Looking for a interesting place to stay in the heart of Santa Fe that doesn't break the bank? This is it. Stylish decor, helpful staff, great location and price. What more could you want? The only reason it didn't get all 5 points was that my room was a little short on free wall outlets. This was a business trip and computer use was a must. But I'll certainly stay there again the next time I'm visiting Santa Fe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwdurachta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,243 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,289 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,604 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxx Hotel

Property: Luxx Hotel
Address: 105 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luxx Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A winner of Hotel Showdown, the LUXX Boutique Hotel is Located just steps from the historic Santa Fe Plaza and Convention Center. Housed within a historic building, the hotel features uniquely decorated rooms with original artwork, custom faux finishes and tile work, custom painted tables, work desk, organic bath products, robes, free wifi, onsite coffee house, and Sushi restaurant. Award winning restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Luxx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxx Plaza Hotel + Casita Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing