We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Ranked #17 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stay at lots of Hyatt Places and overall they are great. This one was a big disappointment. We stayed at this hotel while it was over run with well behaved little league teams. The problem wasn't the kids, at least from what we observed. It was that the pool could not handle the number of hotel guests using it at one time and the hotel's free breakfast area was totally overwhelmed. When we went for breakfast there was virtually no food left. The staff was doing everything they could to catch up but not enough staff to handle the situation. There was only one clean plate almost all of breakfast food was gone and the eating area looked like the aftermath of party. The problem here was not the staff they were great, also, lso the kids were fine. It was that the hotel was understaffed for handling such a large group and management was defensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuctionRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPSantaFe, General Manager at Hyatt Place Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We are so apologetic for your experiences at our Hyatt Place Santa Fe. It was totally unfortunate that our non Little League guests had to experience the behaviors of some of the adults associated with the team. Those parents have since apologized for the disruptions they caused. We can certainly promise you and all of our other future guests that this type of disruption will never again take place in our hotel.

Again, I apologize and hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in Santa Fe. Lee Bates, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 836 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

I drove several hours from Colorado Springs and was looking forward to checking in. When opened the door to my room I saw a fruit plate, bottled water, cookie and a letter from the manager. Thats a classy move for a Hyatt Place. I felt appreciated and enjoyed my stay just a little bit more thanks to great management.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPSantaFe, General Manager at Hyatt Place Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our Hyatt Place Santa Fe. It's always great to hear that we are "Walking Out Talk"! We look forward to hosting you at a Hyatt Place again one day. Lee Bates. GM. 10.16.13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We thought, because of the location and price, that we'd be staying somewhere kind of run down without personality. On the contrary, it was a lovely little hotel! The rooms were a great size, the staff was incredible, (the little touches were noticed guys, thanks!) The pool was well-maintained, and the breakfast was varied, although very little vegetarian hot food, alas. Also, I wouldn't recommend ordering from the kitchen as the food there isn't worth the hefty price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Momma_cupKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPSantaFe, General Manager at Hyatt Place Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our Hyatt Place Santa Fe. It's always great to hear that we are "Walking Out Talk"! We look forward to hosting you at a Hyatt Place again one day. Lee Bates. GM. 10.16.13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked through an express deal, and paid well under "retail" rate.
Large, clean room with plenty of space for a 3yo to run around. Only downside was that the towels and sheets were a tad scratchy.
Breakfast was good, apple juice was basically water though. But there were other choice, so no big deal.
Overall great place to stay, would recommend to any and stay again if ever in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amazingkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPSantaFe, General Manager at Hyatt Place Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our Hyatt Place Santa Fe. It's always great to hear that we are "Walking Out Talk"! We look forward to hosting you at a Hyatt Place again one day. Lee Bates. GM. 10.16.13

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at the Hyatt Place in Sante Fe around 1am due to flight delays. Upon check-in we were informed by the desk attendant that there were no more king bed rooms available despite the fact that we had booked one 3 months ahead of time! We were put in a two queen room and had to move everything to a king room the next day when one came available. Not a good start to what was supposed to be a relaxing trip.

The general manager was very unresponsive in dealing with this and never spoke to me in person the full five nights we stayed at the Hyatt Place, despite a request to do so. He informed me via phone after checking out that no room type is ever guaranteed there???!!! So beware, the room you booked may not be the room you get when staying here.

Now on to the hotel. It's designed to look very modern and has a really nice lobby area. The rooms are relatively clean, except for the couch in the room. Both rooms we stayed in had a brown stain on the cushion. The breakfast was good, but the seats in the breakfast area are quite past their prime. Many had large, noticeable stains on them from breakfast mishaps in the past. It really made you wonder if sitting down was okay.

There are lots of great places to stay in Sante Fe, but this place is one to be avoided!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPSantaFe, General Manager at Hyatt Place Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

First I want to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Hyatt Place Santa Fe.

As the General Manager, I do take responsibility for your experiences. I do recall my conversation regarding the room type, and the fact that we did discuss specifically the room type issues. We do strive to make sure each and every one of our guests is granted the requests that they make for their reservations, but there are times when it just won't happen due to availability. It is true that room types are not specifically guaranteed, unless of course our guest is a Member of the Hyatt Gold Passport Program and has achieved a Diamond or Platinum level.

That is not to say that we don't try and if you should choose to select our hotel again in the future, we will do our best to accommodate your requests.

Again, I apologize and hope we do have a chance in the future to prove that we can do better. Lee Bates, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

First of all, this hotel was selected because it had a shuttle, however, they neglected to say the shuttle only runs on a schedule and that it only goes to downtown Santa Fe. Needless to say, it was not convenient if you come here without a car. I have a bad knee so nothing is walkable for me. My room was also quite noisy as it was directly across from a tire place and they are making noise all day until they close, I also think my room was above the laundry as there was humming noises all night. Other than that, the room was nice and spacious and had a refrigerator which is always nice when you travel. Breakfast the first day, French toast and biscuits and gravy. They do have a menu available all day but it didn't look that appetizing. Staff was nice and friendly but the shuttle service left a lot to be desired. The shuttle sat in front of the hotel the whole time. Since most people were traveling with a car, they might as well not have a shuttle. They do pick up from the Santa Fe airport but there aren't too many flights into that airport so again , useless especially since there is a shuttle service at the SAF airport that will take you anywhere for $20.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIchelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent the night here on a road trip from Texas to Colorado. The property is fresh and new and seems about 6 months old but is actually a 3 year old property. Our room was spacious, with a separate seating area, and bar/kitchen area. It had a large flat panel with a very cool interface panel built into the wall for connecting your laptop/DVD/iPod/iPad to the TV. Very nice touch.

The exercise gear in the gym was ultra modern and the hotel even offered complementary ear buds to plug in to the media while running on the treadmill. The jacuzzi was a tad small for a hotel this size, but worked well. The beds were quality and rooms were free from any road or freeway noise.

We even took advantage of the coin operated laundry machines on our floor to get ahead of our travel clothing deficit. The breakfast was varied and fresh. They also offer fancy cappucinos for an extra fee.

The hotel is about 15 minutes down the avenue to the famous Santa Fe market. They even offer a free shuttle but the last trip back to the hotel is an 8:30pm pick up from the market, a tad too early for us to take advantage of that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank My_name_is_Paesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
2,501 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#13 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Santa Fe

Address: 4320 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-9720
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $97 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing