We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Exotic”
Review of Jambo Cafe

Jambo Cafe
Ranked #5 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: African, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: African and Caribbean dishes and specialties from award-winning Chef Ahmed Obo. Jambo Cafe specializes in new combinations of traditional dishes with a decidedly spicy flair. Winner of many awards, "Best Soup" for the Souperbowl 4 years running and "Best International Cuisine" in the Santa Fe Reporter for 5 years. We serve vegetarian and seafood options alongside our chicken, beef, lamb, and goat dishes. Locating in College Plaza near corner of St. Michaels Drive and Cerrillos Road. Plenty of parking.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm and Exotic”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Lamb stew is great on a cold or windy day. Service is good, although they are often quite busy on Friday and Saturday night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomtaylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    253
    56
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
home
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Marvelous!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Stopped at Jambo Cafe on a Trip Advisor recommendation, and it did not disappoint! Servers were a little aloof, but the food more than made up for it. Everything we had, from appetizer to dessert, was well-seasoned, appropriately temperatured, and outright delicious! Very much a Carribean flair. Would certainly return!


Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank akeusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Green Chile what?”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place is amazing. Its buried in a strip mall off Cerillos, away from the plaza, and not a green chile on the menu. Very anti-Santa Fe. But do yourself a favor and go. Unreal. Really.

Lamb burger, wraps, their soups oh my god. And the Goat stew is my favorite. Get a wonderfully spicy hot chai to go with and your set. The staff is great, but this place literally stays packed so always a little wait. But worth it.

One of the best restaurants in Santa Fe or anywhere. Completely different from anything in the city. I must if you visit and if you live here and haven't been...shame.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
810 reviews
581 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“Excellent seasoning. 5/5 if the pie would be as good as Pascuals”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The fish was perfectly seasoned. Wonderfully spicy, so was the sauce, rice, and spinach. Overall, the chef is not afraid of using spices and hot peppers. Which I love. Ambiente is cute, ethnic maybe. The goat stew (just tried the liquid from a friend's plate) was excellent. The dessert was a bit of a let-down after having eaten the same banana pie at Cafe Pascuals the night before.

Service was prompt and friendly. Good parking nearby. I will definitely be back to ask for the signature dessert. And then it will be a 5/5.

I highly recommend to reserve a table. We got there at 6PM and the place was full.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelmutsFoodPorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A tasty treat”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Very creative and tasty healthy food. African-Caribbean food. Very unusual menu items and are all worth a try. They have dynamite soups. The chef has won the Santa Fe Souper Bowl contest several times.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mgard98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jambo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jambo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing