We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventuresome meal & good food”
Review of Jambo Cafe

Jambo Cafe
Ranked #5 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: African, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: African and Caribbean dishes and specialties from award-winning Chef Ahmed Obo. Jambo Cafe specializes in new combinations of traditional dishes with a decidedly spicy flair. Winner of many awards, "Best Soup" for the Souperbowl 4 years running and "Best International Cuisine" in the Santa Fe Reporter for 5 years. We serve vegetarian and seafood options alongside our chicken, beef, lamb, and goat dishes. Locating in College Plaza near corner of St. Michaels Drive and Cerrillos Road. Plenty of parking.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Adventuresome meal & good food”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Haven't had too much African food in my life, but figured a new experience is in order, so we went there tonight. We weren't disappointed. We had the stuffed phyllo app. I just like spanikopita with a few add ons. For the entres we tried the Morrocan lamb stew and a combination plate with curry chicken and goat stew. All the meals were tasty and generous portions. There is a middle eastern spice smell to the place that is very satisfying. The place was packed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    253
    56
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Delicious uncommon food”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We tried the Jambo Cafe for lunch on weekday afternoon, and the place was just packed. We were able to dine outside at one of two outside tables. Our waiter never forgot about us, however, and the service was outstanding.

Jambo Cafe features really unique entrees and freshly-made beverages and desserts. Portions are large and served hot. Prices are moderate and offer great value compared to other restaurants in the area where you pay a lot more for not great food, and nowhere near as distinct or tasty as you'll find here. Food flavors were vibrant but not overpowering.

We started with the Hummus Plate appetizer; the hummus was superb, and the pita bread was some of the best and freshest I've ever eaten. We then enjoyed the Curried Chicken Salad Wrap with sweet potato and cumin fries, along with the Jerk Chicken Sandwich and cumin fries. For dessert, the Banana-Coconut Cream Pie was fantastic: it was not too sweet, with a perfect crust.

We are already looking forward to going back as we want to try some of the specialty platters next time, and of course more fresh desserts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DiveMoreWorkLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun,funky,delicious!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

From the moment you walk in to this crowded local eatery you know you are going to enjoy some good food. The aroma of the spices will make you start salivating even before you read the menu.
Great soups, salads, curries, kabobs and desserts, all at budget friendly prices. So skip the expensive touristy chi chi restaurants, and rub elbows with the people of Santa Fe who enjoy this neighborhood restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SkidawayBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Terrific African/Caribbean food in a Santa Fe hole-in-the-wall”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is an amazing find in Santa Fe, where we mostly have New Mexican, New American, fusion and the like. Our favorites: the coconut chicken curry (my wife's favorite), goat stew (maybe my favorite, but too strong a taste for my wife), Moroccan lamb stew (served with a dab of chutney on top), and an amazing mango cobbler dessert. We always order a side of roti (a yummy African flat bread) and sometimes the sweet potato fries or fried plantain. You'll find it tucked into a strip mall on Cerrillos Road, just south of St. Michael's Drive and just North of Office Depot. It is very popular with the locals, so reserve a table and/or plan to get there early.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HMac_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Get out of the rut...”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

And try this place. You'll get a great atmosphere and fast and friendly service. And of course, the menu will be different from the usual.

My dad ordered the Organic Jerk Chicken. This was the best Jerk I've had in New Mexico. And the fried plantains were a great accompaniment. I had the spices lamb burger which was fantastic: Soft delicious bun on a well-portioned, perfectly cooked, ground lamb patty.

One thing...I usually expect Jerk to be hot and spicy, but this was not the case. The spices were very calm, but that did not take away from the great flavor - on the contrary.

Note: They don't take American Express.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jambo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jambo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing