We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ethnic Food”
Review of Jambo Cafe

Jambo Cafe
Ranked #5 of 565 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: African, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: African and Caribbean dishes and specialties from award-winning Chef Ahmed Obo. Jambo Cafe specializes in new combinations of traditional dishes with a decidedly spicy flair. Winner of many awards, "Best Soup" for the Souperbowl 4 years running and "Best International Cuisine" in the Santa Fe Reporter for 5 years. We serve vegetarian and seafood options alongside our chicken, beef, lamb, and goat dishes. Locating in College Plaza near corner of St. Michaels Drive and Cerrillos Road. Plenty of parking.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Ethnic Food”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I visited Jambo Cafe last week with 3 friends who had all eaten there before.
I had the Moroccan Lamb Stew which was served with a side of couscous. The
servings were very generous (I was able to eat about half) and the stew was very
flavorful. It was a welcome departure from the outstanding New Mexican cuisine that is
so prevalent in Santa Fe. The staff was very friendly and very laid back. The menu was varried with lamb, goat, vegetarian and several curry choices. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sf_lka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    813
    251
    55
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
113 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Just "Okay"”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stopped by Jambo Cafe because we had heard so many great things about it. We went for lunch one day, and I had the Jamaican Jerked Grilled Chicken and he had the Grilled Marinated Mahi Mahi. It was just "okay." For an appetizer we split the hummus plate. Honestly, I've had better hummus at other eating establishments. The restaurant is in a strip mall, and once in there they really haven't done much to make it nice and upscale. Overall I was disappointed. I had heard SO MUCH about Jambo Cafe, and I didn't see what all the hype was about.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good and different, but not wierd”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Finally listened to foodie-friends and headed for the strip mall and Jambo Cafe. Great array of flavors, with no spices over-powering. Unusual menu items but not wierd. Soups and mahi mahi particularly good. Attentive wait-staff. Ambiance is Early Dorm Room, but that's not why you come here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I visited the Cafe last month. Someone recommended it to me and I wasn't dissapointed. The variety of food is excellent, friendly staff and a cool atmosphere. Coming from East Africa, the food served reminded me of home. If you want to experience African food, pay a visit to Jambo Cafe

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We are fans”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We live in Santa Fe and eat at Jambo often. It is one of our favorites. They have won the best soup competition in the annual Souper Bowl fund raiser for our food depot three years in a row, and deservedly so. Every time we eat there, there is something new and delicious on the menu, and we find ourselves saying "We should come here more often!" They are always busy, so if you don't want to wait for a table, call for a reservation.

Helpful?
2 Thank abenteuergirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jambo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jambo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing