We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Essence of Santa Fe”
5.0 of 5 stars
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dunshee's Casita

sign
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sign
susan 26a
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 stars
Excellent
10 reviews
sign
susan
26a
casita kitchen
25
17
18
24
21
back patio
door
casita livingrm sm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Santa Fe, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

 of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bigal47ny
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Essence of Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I just completed our 8th consecutive yearly visit to Santa Fe. On each trip we have stayed either at Susan Dunshee's B&B, an absolutely charming 1 BR wing of the main home, or at the adjacent 2BR "casita" residence, complete with full kitchen, kiva fireplace, and spacious living room. The fact that we have returned to stay with Susan every year speaks more positively than any words of praise I might offer here. The B&B is a dream, with high beamed ceilings, 2 fireplaces (including one in the bedroom for an uniquely romantic experience), and the best homemade breakfasts in Santa Fe, personally cooked and served by Susan. The casita, suitable for more independent living or for a family gathering, contains all of the ingredients needed for a short or long stay. Both are absolutely authentic adobe homes located in the desirable eastside neighborhood, about a 20-25 minute walk to the plaza and 5 minutes or less to Canyon Road. Susan is the perfect hostesss, providing ample firewood so that you can really use the fireplaces on those chilly mountain evenings. But more than location, charm and hospitality, what makes this place so special is the owner herself, whom we have come to think of more as a friend than a proprietor. If you are looking for a non-tourist immersion experience of the real New Mexico, look no further. Just don't try to book Easter week next year: we have already staked our claim!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, hospitality, overall ambience
Liked least: there were no negatives
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
a happy traveler
MA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Happy Tourist
CA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Toronto
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011 for a stay in January 2011
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
NewMexTex
Texas
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010 for a stay in December 2009
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Romeo
Florida
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010 for a stay in October 2009
5 of 5 stars Value 3 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
heidischnabel
co
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010 for a stay in November 2009
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: None
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Any
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing