We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the splurge”

Santa Fe School of Cooking
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come discover the rich culinary history of the "City Different” at the Santa Fe School of Cooking, the authority on Southwestern cuisine. The School offers a variety of authentic classes and events, including demonstration and hands on cooking classes, restaurant walking tours, and a regional market. Celebrating over 23 years in business!
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Well worth the splurge”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We took the "rellenos" cooking class our first day in Santa Fe. What a great introduction to New Mexican cuisine. Chef Deena and the cooking school staff could not have been better prepared or more professional. We enjoyed every minute of our 3 hours. Our prepared recipes were delicious and oh so filling for lunch. Treat yourself to a class here. Your picture may end up on their Facebook page

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherstur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    43
    11
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
“cooking class, best part of Santa Fe”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Had a great time at the cooking class at the school! I would go back to Santa Fe if that's the only thing I was able to do! Learned a lot about cooking and enjoyed some fantastic food at the end!!! Top notch!!!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank ruffage01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Not something to miss in Santa Fe”
Reviewed October 20, 2010

In October 2010, my wife and I took the restaurant walking tour in Santa Fe conducted by Rocky and David of the Santa Fe School of Cooking. From the moment it began with appetizers and Rocky's "performance" we felt comfortable and enthralled with the personnel, food, and wine.

We walked along with a small group to four local restaurants, where we were introduced to chefs, each one's foods, wines, and a bit of history.

From the cheesecake torte and Portuguese wine to the pumpkin ravioli and demonstration by chef Matt, it was a totally engaging and entertaining afternoon. As they instructed us, we didn't make nor did we need dinner reservations after the tour.

Please don't miss this if you go to Santa Fe.

Helpful?
Thank majah1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too expensive... not worth the price.”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Chef talked more that he cooked. Didn't demonstrate everything on the menu. Couldn't believe charging for wine or beer.

Helpful?
Thank dulin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great fun at cooking school”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

8 of us took a traditional new mexican cooking class with Rocky Durham. Rocky's style is fun and easy going and we learned tons. The food we ate as part of the class was fabulous. I highly recommend any class at this school

Helpful?
Thank Spiketon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe School of Cooking also viewed

 

Been to Santa Fe School of Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing