We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lensic Performing Arts Center

Lensic Performing Arts Center
Ranked #32 of 260 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Santa Fe, N.M.'s premier performing arts center located in the historic Lensic Theater in the heart of downtown Santa Fe.Our MissionThe nonprofit Lensic Performing Arts Center enriches lives by bringing diverse art and people together in the historic Lensic Theater, a cornerstone of downtown Santa Fe since 1931. The Lensic presents and supports local and national artists and serves as a center for education, community and youth events through its accessible and affordable programming.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“What a great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Have been to the Lensic for many fuctions and always have a great time!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CandPtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    42
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue for a live performance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Located right on the old town square, this was our second visit to the Lensic. First visit we saw a symphony performance,last a singing group performance, both wonderful. We always check if anything is playing here when we are in the area. It makes for a great evening. Many great restaurants within walking distance. Parking, shopping around the square. The theater is classically decorated southwest. Not too big, all seats are good. Tickets available online.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrieandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Sweet Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Lensic is an intimate, classic stage venue. no bad seats...just like the opera house. A treat to see and enjoy an event. When in SF...try to book a show. Comfortable seating too.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank blessasugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A beautiful, historic theatre with great venues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

On visits to Santa Fe, I always check out the events at the Lensic which has more than 200 events in a year. Three years ago, I had the privilege of seeing Juan De Marcos and the Buena Vista Social Club with Afro-Cuban jaz z.. their first performance on U.S. soil.
My wife and I are still raving about seeing the group Los Lobos who arrived from L.A.on March 7, 2012.
These guys are amazing musicians, humble and giving it all for their fans. The crowd gave standing ovations during the evening and at the close.

We had seats 6 rows from the stage at $51 each.. a bargain you would never get elsewhere. The Lensic deserves to be supported as it continues to excel in bringing top performers to Santa Fe (even had a sold out show for Patti Lupone on March 1st,2012).

The building is wonderfully restored and has a state of the art lighting and sound system. I heartily recommend a visit here when in Santa Fe..

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank scuba312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The cultural center of Santa Fe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

You can attend almost any kind of event here and they are world class.

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lensic Performing Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to Lensic Performing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing