We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Galisteo Bistro

Galisteo Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Galisteo Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 555 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $32
Cuisines: Contemporary, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between Water & Alameda
Transit: Bus stop at end of the block; Railrunner station nearby.
Description: Galisteo Bistro is chef/owned by the original founders, Robert & Marge Chickering, featuring eclectic, innovative, "made by hand" international cuisine & known for its open kitchen, quality menu offerings, including a full beer & wine list, with attentive service in a casual, comfortable downtown setting with plenty of nearby parking.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We waited a short time tp be seated, albeit during the off season but they grested us with a pleasant hello. The owner greets and seats you. The small restaurant was very nice and the waiters very knowledgeable.

Our steaks were really quite delicious. One with mushrooms and green chili and the other with Argentinian herbsand mint. Wow. Great wine menu. Don't miss it

Helpful?
2 Thank sab1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    150
    65
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

As we walked in we knew we were in for a good experience. The smells were overpoweringly good. Intimate with excellent service and an interesting menu with choices to satisfy a fussy family.
This is well worth a visit if you are in Santa Fe.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bigplatcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just left Galisteo Bistro and were so pleased with absolutely everything about this restaurant. Starting from the warm and friendly greeting to the last goodbye the ambiance, service and food were among the best we have ever had. Chef Robert was kind and inviting and made our experience personal. Chef Marge's dessert was ever so yummy! Thank you for a memorable evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Olove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“extraordinary experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We chose this place because the menu looked imaginative - and it was indeed. Choices were so appealing it was hard to decide but we were delighted with every item. Food preparation was virtuoso, presentation artistic, service sterling. Seasonings and spices were both bold and subtle. . The atmosphere was charming; intimate without crowding. We have lived in New York City and traveled often to San Francisco; Galisteo ranks with the top offerings anywhere. In Michelin terms it is worth a journey. Wendell and Charlotte Hatfield

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque ,nm
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Dined there last night for the first time. Was looking for a great Santa Fe restaurant but without the same old places. Found this on Trip Advisor and it was great. The ambiance was lovely, not noisy and the food was superb. Very broad menu with wonderful variety of tapas, salads and main dishes. The waiter was knowledgeable, attentive without hovering. The Chef/Owner and his wife were present and were present and interacted with us in the most charming manner. This is a true winner. Don't miss it if in Santa Fe

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wjohnson119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galisteo Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Galisteo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing