We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming French-Italian Bistro”
Review of Galisteo Bistro

Galisteo Bistro
Ranked #24 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between Water & Alameda
Transit: Bus stop at end of the block; Railrunner station nearby.
Description: Galisteo Bistro is chef/owned by the original founders, Robert & Marge Chickering, featuring eclectic, innovative, "made by hand" international cuisine & known for its open kitchen, quality menu offerings, including a full beer & wine list, with attentive service in a casual, comfortable downtown setting with plenty of nearby parking.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Charming French-Italian Bistro”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Galisteo Bistro is a small, vibrant restaurant a few blocks from the central Plaza. The interior architecture is very creative, as is the food, I had a shrimp and crab salad and scallop and shrimp pasta and my wife had a grilled eggplant appetizer and a tuna entre salad. The service was very attentive. The prices were very reasonable. All single glasses of read wine were $9. Lots of fun, and good eating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    155
    66
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A stellar dinner”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Incredibly tasty food served by the most courteous waiter. Everything was fresh and we cleaned our plates. We were a bit squished until the folks at the table next to us left, but other than that we highly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gratefulforvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good but don't go alone”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I go to Santa Fe every year and always go here for their excellent food and service. But not this year. For some reason, this restaurant refuses to take reservations for only one person. And that's unacceptable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank peters42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best meal”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I found this on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. The Haddock special was fantastic. The service was impeccable and I loved the atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LB220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent, quality food with a creative flair”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really enjoyed all courses of our meal. The service was excellent and the decor is nice. The tables are tight, but fortunately we went early and didn't have to share our experience with a too-close table. I'd say a must visit if your looking for a nice meal in Santa Fe with prices that are in line with the quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank EdFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galisteo Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Galisteo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing