We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it, you'll like it”
Review of Galisteo Bistro

Galisteo Bistro
Ranked #23 of 571 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between Water & Alameda
Transit: Bus stop at end of the block; Railrunner station nearby.
Description: Galisteo Bistro is chef/owned by the original founders, Robert & Marge Chickering, featuring eclectic, innovative, "made by hand" international cuisine & known for its open kitchen, quality menu offerings, including a full beer & wine list, with attentive service in a casual, comfortable downtown setting with plenty of nearby parking.
Montrose, CO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try it, you'll like it”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, outstanding customer service, affordable dining! We look forward to dining there again, in part because we so enjoyed meeting the owners who are are dedicated to the excellence of their establishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank InfiniteRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    155
    66
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Galisteo Bistro - Receive the Special Treatment”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We learned about this restaurant by participating in the Santa Fe School of Cooking Restaurant tour and this restaurant was the best on the tour! So after the tour, we went to back to Galisteo Bistro for dinner and Chef Robert and Chef Marge remembered us and were so welcoming. Not only was the food delicious but the Chef recommended wine pairings which were really good and the price point was very economical. This chef duo are definitely great at what they do and it shows through. Their passion is shown by how they run their restaurant and treating each customer as if they are the only one in the restaurant. It almost feels like going to a friends house for dinner. We would recommend getting the Gorgonzola Tort, Braised Shank and the Bread Pudding for dessert which were delicious! This restaurant is a must stop if you are traveling to Santa Fe!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Marti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I chose Galisteo based on reviews on Tripadvisor and we were a little disappointed. When we walked in the place was empty and there seemed to be a slight hesitation when we didn't have reservations. Maybe it was the setup that bothered me a little...the staff did a lot of standing around talking, waiting for the cooks to get the food ready, right there in the table area. I got the crab cakes, which were average, but in the description it says with grilled asparagus. The one asparagus "spear" was barely visible, slightly thicker than a strand of hair. No exaggeration. For a place as upscale as this, I would be embarrassed to put this on the plate. I guess it surprised me. I am not usually one to fuss, but I thought this was worth mentioning. My husband got steak and enjoyed it. We shared the mud puddle dessert, which we both found delectable. Service was average. I'm glad so many have found this a place they love. We'll skip it next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cdmanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We literally "blew in" to this place during a wind storm on a recent Saturday night and we're glad we did! Although we didn't have reservations the staff was able to seat us right away and we had a scrumptious meal. Lots of interesting menu choices, first-class service, and a cozy ambience. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Myra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Surprising find”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent tapas type menu with lots of choices; good wine list; excellent service. Reservations are a must!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tejo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galisteo Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Galisteo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing